• Create Account

How much time do you need to finish a beginners book?

Old topic!
Guest, the last post of this topic is over 60 days old and at this point you may not reply in this topic. If you wish to continue this conversation start a new topic.

• You cannot reply to this topic
16 replies to this topic

#1 mtplaid   Members   -  Reputation: 113

0Likes

Posted 02 May 2014 - 03:13 AM

Hey guys, I'm new to this site and i just started learning C++ through a book I'm reading 'Beginning C++ Through Game Programming' by Michael Dawson and I feel like I'm too slow...

I know a bit of java, html, and php (I made a basic website once) and after 2 weeks and I'm in chapter 6. Am i too slow? too fast?

And i read a lot about game programming (because thats what i want to do) they said as a beginner, stick to small project or games (because once you finish it, it is more rewarding than large projects and failing it) and I think tic-tac-toe is a small game but I'm just copying or typing the code (It's my first AI), i understand the code(except for the AI part) but if i want to remake it without looking at the book i don't think i can do it. Is it normal to know the code but can't remake it? I'm feeling kind of incompetent, the reviews of the book said it's easy and good for beginners.

I remade the Hangman on chapter 4 but i was looking at the pseudocode.

After running the game should i know the code without looking at the book?

How do you know if you're not a beginner anymore?

Sorry for having a lot of questions, I'm new to this, and all of those programming language I know is self thought so I don't know if I'm a beginner at those or not.

Sponsor:

#2 Saint Retro   Members   -  Reputation: 261

10Likes

Posted 02 May 2014 - 04:20 AM