Game Design for VR Devices

Started by
11 comments, last by Christopher Morris 9 years, 11 months ago

It's no secret that VR devices are going to have a big impact on society in the coming years - and even better that their introduction is in the gaming industry.

I am an aspiring game designer. To educate myself outside of school - I read a lot of articles about game designs of all types, not just video. I am hoping to one day be involved with VR devices, and create games for them. But therein lies my issue, and the point of this post:

How do you design a game that is focused more on the experience, than the gameplay itself?

My thoughts were gravitating towards a simulation game design. I guess before you get into it, you would have to establish what you are trying to do. I have an idea for a game centered around emotional experiences that also includes metagaming.

So my question would be: how do you craft/design a proper emotional experience? Would a degree in psychology help you achieve this? Would simple life experience (social situations) be enough?

I look at things like memorable characters in film, how they interact with other characters, their reactions/emotions and can see how it would be easy to create these situations - yet it also vexes me.

Advertisement
The VR headset, IIUC, are just fancy 3D glasses. So I don't think that anything particularly unique has to be done from a game design perspective. However, if a game designer is truly looking for VR experience than that would be more dependent on the hardware involved.

Beginner in Game Development?  Read here. And read here.

It's no secret that VR devices are going to have a big impact on society in the coming years

Why? What's so special about these devices (which existed for more than a decade already)?

I advise caution, the same fad about VR we had in 90s, IIRC (and so far I'm still waiting for the practical results biggrin.png)