Team size for a 3D RPG?

Started by
7 comments, last by Tom Sloper 9 years, 11 months ago

Yesterday I've got the ideea to make a game about the ancestors of my country. I think RPG would be the best choice for an historical game but I am not sure. What is the best team size/composition for a medium size 3D RPG ? I have to say that I am a programmer, don't have any money, and have just few small games made.

"Don't gain the world and lose your soul. Wisdom is better than silver or gold." - Bob Marley

Advertisement
This is not a Beginners question so I moved it to Production And Management.

Look at the credits for a comparable game.

-- Tom Sloper -- sloperama.com

Look at the credits for a comparable game.

Ideally, find a comparable game by an indie studio, otherwise, these may look oversized (large corporations have execs and other teams that like to put their names on the credits without necessarily contributing much work. as a result, if developed by an in-house studio of a publisher, you'll see 300+ names oftentimes).

What is the best team size/composition for a medium size 3D RPG ?

What is medium-size to you? This is a highly subjective concept. Furthermore, given that you are a programmer, you may be led to believe it to be medium sized in terms of features, but it may not be so in terms of art and content (level design).

Provide me with a game reference and I'll give numbers to the best of my ability.

(Also bear in mind timeline is closely tied to staffing, so the answer can range in numbers depending on your expected timeline).

I have in mind a game like Ravensword. I also got an 3D artist and 2 programmers and more people want to join the team. I have another question.. Let's say that me and other programmers won't work at the same place so we must work remotely. We will be using unity3d. How can we do it?

"Don't gain the world and lose your soul. Wisdom is better than silver or gold." - Bob Marley