• Create Account

Physics and Animation (3D)?

Old topic!
Guest, the last post of this topic is over 60 days old and at this point you may not reply in this topic. If you wish to continue this conversation start a new topic.

• You cannot reply to this topic
5 replies to this topic

#1 TheComet   Members   -  Reputation: 1460

1Likes

Posted 27 May 2014 - 04:23 AM

I've little experience with physics simulation, and was wondering what the best approach is to mixing skeletal animation with physics along with some procedural animation.

It occurred to me that animations aren't bound to the physical limitations a ragdoll (for instance) would enforce. That is, an animation can very easily create infinite amounts of energy, which basically ends up destroying any purely physically simulated object on contact. An example of this behaviour can be observed in Skate 3.

I'm trying to simulate something like what Nintendogs did, where you can pet an animal with the mouse cursor. I want to support things such as moving an arm into a certain position, then have the pet stay like that, all while having the pet react to other physical objects. On top of that, the pet plays various animations blended together with procedural animation.

My approach would have been to use some form of PID controller to generate force inputs for the physics engine, depending on what the skeleton should be doing, and what it actually is doing. This would mean the pet would be a full ragdoll, and the animation would only influence the way it moved.

Would this be the best approach? Is there a library that already handles this? Can someone perhaps point me to some useful articles on the subject?

Edited by TheComet, 27 May 2014 - 04:25 AM.

YOUR_OPINION >/dev/null

Sponsor:

#2 Bluebat   Members   -  Reputation: 370

0Likes

Posted 27 May 2014 - 04:41 PM

That's a very interesting subject and I'd also like to know more.