• Create Account

Selecting a new slot for an item in an inventory.

Old topic!
Guest, the last post of this topic is over 60 days old and at this point you may not reply in this topic. If you wish to continue this conversation start a new topic.

• You cannot reply to this topic
3 replies to this topic

#1 EricsonWillians   Members   -  Reputation: 288

0Likes

Posted 27 May 2014 - 12:56 PM

I'm developing a game with procedurally generated dungeons with a somewhat minecrafty spirit (But 2D), and it's time for the inventory. I've never programmed an inventory before, so I'm figuring out how to do it by my own.

Here's my humble inventory with a humble item at a random position:

inventory.jpg

The first thing that came to my mind when I faced the necessity of creating an inventory, was, naturally: "A list!" (Python). So, here's the code of my Inventory class:

class Inventory(ImageEntity):

def __init__(self,filename):
        ImageEntity.__init__(self,"GFX",filename,0,0)

self.interface = gIBGI(filename)
        self.cursor = InterfaceSelectionCursor("GFX","selectionCursor.png",0,0)
        self.slots = []
        for i in range(8):
            self.slots.append([])
            for j in range(8):
                self.slots[i].append([0,"No hotkey",(j*interfaceWidth,i*interfaceHeight)])
        ew0InitialPos = (randint(0,7),randint(0,7))
        ew0.x = self.getInterfaceX(ew0InitialPos[0])
        ew0.y = self.getInterfaceY(ew0InitialPos[1])
        self.slots[ew0InitialPos[0]][ew0InitialPos[1]][0] = ew0

self.slotHolder = 0
        self.itemSelectedByMouse = False

def watchForHotkeyAssignments(self):

for i in self.slots:
            for slot in i:
                if (key.get_pressed()[K_LCTRL] and (key.get_pressed()[K_1] or key.get_pressed()[K_KP1])):
                    if slot[2] == (self.cursor.x,self.cursor.y):
                        slot[1] = "Hotkey 1"