• Create Account

Banner advertising on our site currently available from just $5!

1. Learn about the promo. 2. Sign up for GDNet+. 3. Set up your advert!

android fluid frames and gc

Old topic!
Guest, the last post of this topic is over 60 days old and at this point you may not reply in this topic. If you wish to continue this conversation start a new topic.

• You cannot reply to this topic
10 replies to this topic

#1 fir   Members   -  Reputation: -460

0Likes

Posted 28 May 2014 - 11:18 AM

I am new to android Im watching some example source of simple game and there is stated

This code is not as beauty as could be. It is optimized to avoid garbage collection

which would make the display updates stutter.

Does it mean that when you make game for android you have to do such things regularry? Is there some way of programming in java that let you not engage garbage collection ;/

sorry for banal question maybe but i am quite green here Im curious and it would be hard probably to get this answer with my zero experience 

Sponsor:

#2 SimonForsman   Crossbones+   -  Reputation: 6665

2Likes

Posted 28 May 2014 - 12:30 PM

Since you didn't post any actual code it is hard to give a proper answer but.... yes, when you make games using Java(and other languages with a hard to control GC) you want to write your code in a way that keeps the GC from kicking in during gameplay. Hold on to your references, re-use allready allocated objects instead of reallocating them, avoid modifying immutable objects(such as strings) and try to do your cleanup (drop references and force the GC to run) during your loading screens,

Edited by SimonForsman, 28 May 2014 - 12:31 PM.

I don't suffer from insanity, I'm enjoying every minute of it.
The voices in my head may not be real, but they have some good ideas!

#3 fir   Members   -  Reputation: -460

0Likes

Posted 28 May 2014 - 01:09 PM