• Create Account

3D Voxels vs 2.5D Rotating Axonometric

Old topic!
Guest, the last post of this topic is over 60 days old and at this point you may not reply in this topic. If you wish to continue this conversation start a new topic.

• You cannot reply to this topic
3 replies to this topic

#1 work   Members   -  Reputation: 105

0Likes

Posted 28 May 2014 - 11:52 AM

I am getting ready to jump into my first game with Clojure. I have some programming experience under my belt, and I'm relatively comfortable with everything. 

Anyways, I am going to be creating a hex-tiled JRPG-esque party-oriented crawler. That's a mouthful. Basically "Pokemon Mystery Dungeon" meets "Final Fantasy" on hex tiles.

What I'm wondering is how I should handle tiling. I'm new to graphical programming so I'm curious if it will be easier to have a 3D setup and learn to love LWJGL with hexagonal voxels, or if I should try and do something easier like axonometric perspective. The nice thing about 2.5D is that I could texture stuff easily and rotate it smoothly because in axonometric games, everything is depth-sorted relative to the screen. That way, regardless of what's on screen, whatever is closest to the bottom is "closest"

underrail.jpg

That image is a good example. If I were to rotate that 180 degrees, that inside corner would be closest and would be depth sorted appropriately.

My question is simple: which is going to be faster on economy PCs? I want something that everybody can access. With 3D, I can control the draw distance easily, so I wouldn't have to worry about writing all the rotation code, and I could prob run it on slower rigs, but it seems like it would also be fast to just depth sort what is essentially a bunch of sprites. With 2.5D, I don't have as much computational overhead at first glance, but whenever the player rotates, I have to redraw and re-sort everything.

Please weigh in on this, if you have a second.

nobody@protonmail.ch | @work_op | 

Sponsor: