• Create Account

OpenGl translating with quaternion based view/camera

Old topic!
Guest, the last post of this topic is over 60 days old and at this point you may not reply in this topic. If you wish to continue this conversation start a new topic.

• You cannot reply to this topic
1 reply to this topic

#1 Misantes   GDNet+   -  Reputation: 1218

0Likes

Posted 11 June 2014 - 10:33 PM

Alright, first let me promise this will be the last thread on quaternions I will make tongue.png Also, I would usually post this in the beginners section, but it feels a little out of place there, so mods, please feel free to relocate this if it does indeed belong there. But, that said, I am rather new to OpenGL, so please keep that mind when responding (you're of course welcome to respond however you'd like, but I'm much less likely to understand it smile.png)

So, I'm able to successfully rotate the Camera around using quaternions. Where I'm running into difficulties is moving the Camera around the worldspace (or the worldspace around the camera). To clarify, so there is less confusion(I'm rather new and I'll certainly misuse opengl nomenclature in this post, but I'll try to be clear) when I say camera I mean a View matrix in a matrix:

glm::mat4 MVP = ProjectionMatrix * ViewMatrix * ModelMatrix;