• Create Account

Minimum specs for a game dev laptop

Old topic!
Guest, the last post of this topic is over 60 days old and at this point you may not reply in this topic. If you wish to continue this conversation start a new topic.

• You cannot reply to this topic
30 replies to this topic

#1 sanmk4890   Members   -  Reputation: 116

Posted 12 June 2014 - 08:44 AM

Hi, I'm planning to buy a new laptop and I'd like to know the minimum specifications to look for, so that I can comfortably develop games. By comfortably, I mean that the hardware shouldn't be a bottleneck at any point. (I know a desktop is a better choice for the screen size, but that's not an option here for me).

I'm just a hobbyist game developer, but I don't want the option of developing graphically intensive games pre-emptively taken away from me by having bought the wrong laptop.

My budget is at $1000. I looked at some 4GB RAM laptops. Then I read some reviews which said that with 4GB RAM , rendering tasks do take much longer time.

A friend finally suggested that if I need a laptop which gives me room for any kind of gamedev work, then the minimum config should be this:

1. Minimum 8GB DDR3 memory

2. Intel i7 (4th gen)

3. Nvidia/AMD GPU

4. 15 Inch screen with 1920 x 1080 resolution

5. 512 GB HDD

All laptops with the above  configs weigh easily more than 2.5 kgs.

My question: Are the above configs really necessary? Is there a way to drop some of them and thus have a lighter weight laptop?

Sponsor:

#2 Truerror   Members   -  Reputation: 468

Posted 12 June 2014 - 09:41 AM

Yes. Look for smaller screen sizes.

With that budget, you can have an entry/mid-level GPU, and 8gb of memory. It won't be enough for next-gen, but then again, you might not need next-gen. However, I don't think you can find one that's under 15 inch that easily.

If you do insist on sub-15inch though, all you'll get is entry-level GPU.