• Create Account

Structuring and organising classes

Old topic!
Guest, the last post of this topic is over 60 days old and at this point you may not reply in this topic. If you wish to continue this conversation start a new topic.

• You cannot reply to this topic
4 replies to this topic

#1 Cosmic R   Members   -  Reputation: 157

0Likes

Posted 19 June 2014 - 07:57 PM

Hi all, I've been a long time lurker for a few years after a long break from the site.

I'm still a beginner, but am really pushing to get a few games under my belt.

Anyway, I've set up a basic game design like this:

Game class Singleton

Game State Class  (for playing/paused etc)

- handle input

- draw

- update

Sprite Class

Game Object Class

- list of sprites for animation

- virtual handle input (calls state->handle_input)

- virtual update (calls state->update)

- virtual draw (calls state->draw)

- Monster Class (derived from GameObject)

- Player Class (derived from GameObject)

State Class

- virtual handle_input

- virtual update

- virtual draw

MonsterState Class (derived from State)

PlayerState Class (derived from State)

Object Manager Class

- manages a list of game objects of a type eg ObjectManager<Monster> monster_manager;

- calling monster_manager.update() runs the update command on all the monster objects etc

Okay, so now that's out of the way, my problem is how do I get my objects talking to the manager? I want my player object for example to be able to tell the manager to create bullet objects.

But it seems the way I've designed it all only allows for messages to be sent downwards, not upwards. I tried including the calling objectmanager on each update call, but because the objectmanager is templated it didn't work.