Jump to content

  • Log In with Google      Sign In   
  • Create Account

Editor ate half of my journal entry


Old topic!
Guest, the last post of this topic is over 60 days old and at this point you may not reply in this topic. If you wish to continue this conversation start a new topic.

  • You cannot reply to this topic
8 replies to this topic

#1 TheChubu   Crossbones+   -  Reputation: 4827

Posted 30 June 2014 - 08:40 PM

There I was, writing, editing, when It happened... I hit "save draft" button, and saw what was left of my entry. It ate half of it, maybe more.

 

I am not pleased. I am the opposite of pleased actually, to put it mildly. Where do I ask for 2 hours of my life back?


Edited by TheChubu, 30 June 2014 - 08:43 PM.

"I AM ZE EMPRAH OPENGL 3.3 THE CORE, I DEMAND FROM THEE ZE SHADERZ AND MATRIXEZ"

 

My journals: dustArtemis ECS framework and Making a Terrain Generator


Sponsor:

#2 Alundra   Members   -  Reputation: 932

Posted 30 June 2014 - 08:58 PM

I'm still your friend man. And be angry to have wasted 2 hours of your life, go take a girl and have a nice night.



#3 samoth   Crossbones+   -  Reputation: 5038

Posted 01 July 2014 - 02:59 AM

Had similar things happen with ordinary replies a couple of times in the past, is why I use a text editor for the editing when it's more than 3-4 lines, and copy/paste the complete stuff into here when it's written. Of course, another option would be to simply not write so much stuff... :)



#4 TheChubu   Crossbones+   -  Reputation: 4827

Posted 01 July 2014 - 05:13 PM


Of course, another option would be to simply not write so much stuff...
I like to write : /

"I AM ZE EMPRAH OPENGL 3.3 THE CORE, I DEMAND FROM THEE ZE SHADERZ AND MATRIXEZ"

 

My journals: dustArtemis ECS framework and Making a Terrain Generator


#5 Gaiiden   Senior Staff   -  Reputation: 5277

Posted 01 July 2014 - 05:21 PM

It's definitely a pain in the ass - even moreso that the forum posts have an auto-save feature that for some reason didn't make its way into the blogging module of the software as well. A couple of times I've hit Backspace while the text window was out of focus (from uploading an image or doing something else outside it) and that cause the browser Back History function to trigger and bye-bye 30-90 minutes of work, at least.

 

However your issue sounds like a bug. So you had a large entry, went to save as draft and only part of the entry was actually saved? Can you reproduce this? Copy/past a large chunk of text and use the Save Draft to erase some of it? I just pasted nearly a thousand lines of text into an entry and it was all there when I saved it as a draft.

 

But yea, I tend to nowadays write everything up in a text editor then paste it over into the journal entry box. Just in case.


Drew Sikora
Executive Producer
GameDev.net


#6 TheChubu   Crossbones+   -  Reputation: 4827

Posted 01 July 2014 - 05:47 PM


However your issue sounds like a bug. So you had a large entry, went to save as draft and only part of the entry was actually saved? Can you reproduce this?

Nope. I thought it had something to do with the code tags but I can't seem to reproduce it.

 

In any case, as I said, I was saving and previewing regularly. Last one of those fckd up the whole entry but previous ones worked fine.

 

EDIT: See the entry, the entry got cut at the bottom of the code code block. Below the "initIfAbsent" code block there was a description of it, it cut that and everything below. The "and thats all you get" is something I added after the entry got fcked.


Edited by TheChubu, 01 July 2014 - 05:51 PM.

"I AM ZE EMPRAH OPENGL 3.3 THE CORE, I DEMAND FROM THEE ZE SHADERZ AND MATRIXEZ"

 

My journals: dustArtemis ECS framework and Making a Terrain Generator


#7 Gaiiden   Senior Staff   -  Reputation: 5277

Posted 07 July 2014 - 06:47 PM

do you recall exactly what you had typed in at that point where the entry broke? That's probably what did it, I recall similar issues on other forums and here in the past


Drew Sikora
Executive Producer
GameDev.net


#8 TheChubu   Crossbones+   -  Reputation: 4827

Posted 08 July 2014 - 03:42 AM


do you recall exactly what you had typed in at that point where the entry broke?
You're asking too much for my brain to remember. Anyway, I think it might have been the 'code' tags. Not sure. As I said, the entry got cut right after one of them (albeit it was the first one, I had I think other 4 code snippets in code tags, with normal text descriptions below each one).

"I AM ZE EMPRAH OPENGL 3.3 THE CORE, I DEMAND FROM THEE ZE SHADERZ AND MATRIXEZ"

 

My journals: dustArtemis ECS framework and Making a Terrain Generator


#9 dejaime   Crossbones+   -  Reputation: 4119

Posted 16 July 2014 - 12:11 PM

What once happened to me when I tried to create internal html anchors was losing all my html tags on an article. I was trying to create a simple linked summary at the top for my yaml article at the time.
 
It was only months later I realized that it was the auto-processing of that first anchor that erased all my subsequent formatting. I think my problem was an xhtml self-closing anchor like this:

<a name="myAnchor" />

But never really tried to reproduce it.






Old topic!
Guest, the last post of this topic is over 60 days old and at this point you may not reply in this topic. If you wish to continue this conversation start a new topic.



PARTNERS