• Create Account

How to emboss mesh surface with text (or create raised text on a surface ) by programming?

Old topic!
Guest, the last post of this topic is over 60 days old and at this point you may not reply in this topic. If you wish to continue this conversation start a new topic.

• You cannot reply to this topic
6 replies to this topic

#1 madeing   Members   -  Reputation: 105

0Likes

Posted 10 July 2014 - 08:52 AM

Hi Greetings,

I'm not sure whether I post this question on correct forum, if not, please forgive me.

I'm a newbie on graphics or modeling domain, now I'm doing some research on embossing any mesh based surface with Text, like the picture shown: (Which is created by Windows 8.1 APP: 3D Builder )

IwvM9.jpg

So the requirement is to implement similar 3D text on a model surface in an application that is developed by Javascript/WebGL. What we have are the triangle based surface, and the 2D text contours. The surface might be a cylindrical or sphere or torus surface.

Since I'm new to both solid modeling and 3D graphics programming, even I have spent several days on this, however, I couldn't find a good algorithm or solution yet. So, I'm posting the question to the great community, I wonder whether someone has the experience to solve similar problem ever, or someone would kindly offer some useful hints, such as any related papers, or related algorithms, or other forums which I post to, etc.  Thanks very much.

(Actually, I've post my questions on stackoverflow, however, no any replies yet. Maybe my question is not properly described or implementing such a 3D text requirement is too difficult.)

Edited by madeing, 10 July 2014 - 08:54 AM.

Sponsor:

#2 Ohforf sake   Members   -  Reputation: 1832

0Likes

Posted 10 July 2014 - 12:36 PM