• Create Account

Game programming curriculum. Feedback please !

• You cannot reply to this topic
6 replies to this topic

#1 sadek   Members   -  Reputation: 121

Posted 24 July 2014 - 06:22 AM

Game programming curriculum. Feedback please!

"English isn't my native language so there are probably some mistakes. Also I hope this post is allowed in this section, still not sure."   

Hey guys and gals,  

I'm pretty new in the whole gamedev scene. I worked myself through various basic topics and really like it so far. Still i got one major problem,

everytime i came across a new topic it was necessary to already have a certain set of skills wich I didn't had most of the time, because i started

learning in a wrong order. So after quite a bit of research, reading, more reading and even more reading i came to a conclusion.

Maybe i should build a little curriculum (guide) for myself with wich i can work my way through to all the major and minor topics. So did i, kind of.  

little sidenote -
"Right now it's only like a curriculum for game programming, not game design in general. I probably build up a new curriculum for game design

too after i'm finished with this one, wich can take a little while"  

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Please bare in mind this is a feedback post. I'm pretty sure i'll missed important parts i still didn't even know of. If this is true please leave feedback

in a form like this ( I also appreciate general feedback. Do you like this idea yes why, no why ? ... )  . 

topic I already mentioned:

Topic
  - What is bad and if it is why
  - how could i improve it
  - any good readings or general infos on this topic i havent included

topic I did not include so far:  

[NEW] Topic
  - Why is this topic important 
  - any good readings or general infos on this topic