• Create Account

Want to move onto a graphics library

Old topic!
Guest, the last post of this topic is over 60 days old and at this point you may not reply in this topic. If you wish to continue this conversation start a new topic.

• You cannot reply to this topic
16 replies to this topic

#1 PvtFreddy   Members   -  Reputation: 97

0Likes

Posted 29 July 2014 - 04:14 AM

Hello all,

I've just joined the site so I hope that I am posting in the correct forum. If not, then I am terribly sorry for the trouble.

I have a question for those who are wise about programming libraries like DirectX, SDL and OpenGL. I have been programming in C++ for almost 4 years now and understand the basics, including the STL. I have picked up a book on DirectX and SDL and understand the code inside them. I think I am ready for moving onto a library to begin using graphics. I also know and understand how to build a Window using the Windows API.

My question is this: What library is the best (not so much easiest) to begin with? I have no hopes of designing a game. I just wish to mess around with the graphics, input, sound, etc. so I obtain a better understanding of how it works and how to write it.

Thank you,

Lewis

Sponsor:

#2 LennyLen   Crossbones+   -  Reputation: 4021

0Likes

Posted 29 July 2014 - 05:13 AM

My question is this: What library is the best (not so much easiest) to begin with? I have no hopes of designing a game. I just wish to mess around with the graphics, input, sound, etc. so I obtain a better understanding of how it works and how to write it.

Based on this, you want a multi-purpose library, and not just a graphics library.  OpenGL is purely a graphics library, so doesn't handle sound and input.

DirectX can handle all of these, but then you're limited to Windows only.

There are three widely used cross-platform libraries: SDL, Allegro, and SFML.  The first two are C libraries, and SFML is C++. They all have similar APIs and learning curves.