Beginner C++ Programmer--Where to?

Started by
5 comments, last by BHXSpecter 9 years, 8 months ago

Hello

I am a new C++ programmer with a basic comprehension of simple C++. If anyone could provide any C++ guides/tutorials for a beginning game programmer, I would be very thankful. I already have a partner who can animate, and we have a game idea. Where should I start looking for a C++ FPS tutorial for beginners?

Advertisement

A new C++ programmer with a basic comprehension of simple C++ doesn't sound ready for an FPS tutorial!

I could be wrong, but if you are a beginner like me, I recommend making text based RPG's - as complicated as you can. With many things moving and going on in the background each time the player moves.

Sure such games aren't fancy, but they let you focus purely on the language and not graphics. Once you have more than a basic understanding of C++, maybe then just go to graphics where you'll be purely learning that, and not trying to pick up advanced C++ on the way?

I could be wrong, but that's my advice, I'm trying to learn C++ too

Disclaimer: I am still at the stage of learning to properly design/code games. Feel free to take this post with a grain of salt if you'd like.

For starters, I believe before making games you should have a stronger understanding of the language you are working with.

For example, a firm grasp of pointers, classes, Virtual inheritance( and when / where it should be used) and so on. Without having a firm grasp of the language you are working with it will be hard to make even a simple game.

After that, I honestly believe you should start out small games while building your understanding of design techniques for coding.

A lot of concepts all come into making games, which it would be mind-blowing trying to learn all at once at the level of a 3D FPS.

As I said earlier, that I am still in the process of learning how to do it properly, so I suppose I will explain the route I am taking?