Jump to content

  • Log In with Google      Sign In   
  • Create Account

Inertia Causing Extremely odd effects.


Old topic!
Guest, the last post of this topic is over 60 days old and at this point you may not reply in this topic. If you wish to continue this conversation start a new topic.

  • You cannot reply to this topic
6 replies to this topic

#1 BlueSpud   Members   -  Reputation: 453

Like
0Likes
Like

Posted 06 August 2014 - 01:03 PM

Hey,
So I downloaded bullet today because I've heard nothing but good things about it. Unfortunately, after reading a quick tutorial, something went terribly wrong XD. So I created plane to serve as the ground and then added a sphere above it and let it fall onto the plane. It hits the ground like I'd expect and then just starts infinitely accelerating towards the negative x and keeping a constant z and y. Here is my code:

//
//  physics.cpp
//  Spud Engine
//
//  Created by Logan on 8/6/14.
//  Copyright (c) 2014 Logan. All rights reserved.
//

#include "physics.h"


physicsWorld::physicsWorld()
    {
        //create all the world components
        bulletConfiguration = new btDefaultCollisionConfiguration();
        bulletDispatcher = new btCollisionDispatcher(bulletConfiguration);
        bulletBroadPhaseInterface = new btDbvtBroadphase();
        bulletSolver = new btSequentialImpulseConstraintSolver();
        
        //create the world
        bulletWorld = new btDiscreteDynamicsWorld(bulletDispatcher,bulletBroadPhaseInterface,bulletSolver,bulletConfiguration);
        bulletWorld->setGravity(btVector3(0,-10,0));
        
        //here are some temp gemoetries
        btTransform t;
        t.setIdentity();
        t.setOrigin(btVector3(0,0,0));
        
        btStaticPlaneShape* plane = new btStaticPlaneShape(btVector3(0,1,0),0.0);
        btMotionState* motionStatePlane = new btDefaultMotionState(t);
        btRigidBody::btRigidBodyConstructionInfo info(0.0,motionStatePlane,plane);
        btRigidBody* planeBody = new btRigidBody(info);
        
        
        rigidBodies.push_back(planeBody);
        bulletWorld->addRigidBody(planeBody);
        
        addRigidSpehere(1, glm::vec3(0,3,0));
        
        
    }

physicsWorld::~physicsWorld()
    {
        //delete all the rigid bodies
        for (int i = 0; i <  rigidBodies.size(); i ++)
        {
            delete rigidBodies[i];
        }

        
        //delete everything
        delete bulletWorld;
        delete bulletSolver;
        delete bulletBroadPhaseInterface;
        delete bulletDispatcher;
        delete bulletConfiguration;
        
    }

void physicsWorld::update(double time)
    {
        bulletWorld->stepSimulation(time);
    }

btRigidBody* physicsWorld::addRigidSpehere(float rad, glm::vec3 position)
    {
        btTransform t;
        t.setIdentity();
        t.setOrigin(btVector3(position.x,position.y,position.z));
        
        btSphereShape* sphere = new btSphereShape(rad);
        
        //calculate inertia
        btVector3 inertia(0.0,0.0,0.0);
        sphere->calculateLocalInertia(1.0, inertia);
        
        btMotionState* motionState = new btDefaultMotionState(t);
        btRigidBody::btRigidBodyConstructionInfo info(1.0,motionState,sphere,inertia);
        btRigidBody* sphereBody = new btRigidBody(info);
        
        rigidBodies.push_back(sphereBody);
        bulletWorld->addRigidBody(sphereBody);
        
        return sphereBody;
    }

And Im updating it with:

 SceneRenderer.currentScene->PhysicsWorld->update(1.0/60.0);

Also, both printing out and rendering are demonstrating that problem. Here is the code for that bit:

//temp to test out physics
        btTransform t;
        btVector3 origin;
        float mat[16];
        PhysicsWorld->rigidBodies[1]->getMotionState()->getWorldTransform(t);
        t.getOpenGLMatrix(mat);
        origin = t.getOrigin();
        
        std::cout << origin.x() << " " << origin.y() << " " << origin.z() << std::endl;
        
        RenderEngine.translateToCameraSpace(cam);
        glMultMatrixf(mat);
        PhysicsSpehere->render(program);

I just started messing around with this, so if anyone can help, I would really appreciate it. Thanks.

 

EDIT: after a bit more messing around as well as implementing a few other things, it seems that there is a problem with the inertia. Is there something Im doing wrong there?


Edited by BlueSpud, 07 August 2014 - 12:41 PM.


Sponsor:

#2 Zaoshi Kaba   Crossbones+   -  Reputation: 4646

Like
1Likes
Like

Posted 07 August 2014 - 12:27 PM

I am unable to reproduce this problem. I copy pasted your code and sphere stops at position {0.000000000, 0.999999821, 0.000000000, 0.000000000}.



#3 BlueSpud   Members   -  Reputation: 453

Like
0Likes
Like

Posted 07 August 2014 - 12:37 PM

I am unable to reproduce this problem. I copy pasted your code and sphere stops at position {0.000000000, 0.999999821, 0.000000000, 0.000000000}.

What version are you using? Im using 2.82, maybe its bugged?



#4 Zaoshi Kaba   Crossbones+   -  Reputation: 4646

Like
1Likes
Like

Posted 07 August 2014 - 01:13 PM

I probably have 2.82 too. Are you sure you're not modifying it somewhere accidently; like force, velocity, or position?

I used this loop and a debugger to inspect values:

	while(1) {
		bulletWorld->stepSimulation(1.0 / 60.0);
		OutputDebugString(to_wstring(sphere->getWorldTransform().getOrigin().getX()).c_str());
		OutputDebugString(L", ");
		OutputDebugString(to_wstring(sphere->getWorldTransform().getOrigin().getY()).c_str());
		OutputDebugString(L", ");
		OutputDebugString(to_wstring(sphere->getWorldTransform().getOrigin().getZ()).c_str());
		OutputDebugString(L"\n");
	}

First few values are 3.0 and lower, but eventually it stops at 0.000000, 1.000000, 0.000000 and just spams that.

(seems debugger and outputting to debug console gives different numbers; rounding?).


Edited by Zaoshi Kaba, 07 August 2014 - 01:14 PM.


#5 BlueSpud   Members   -  Reputation: 453

Like
0Likes
Like

Posted 07 August 2014 - 01:23 PM

I probably have 2.82 too. Are you sure you're not modifying it somewhere accidently; like force, velocity, or position?

I used this loop and a debugger to inspect values:

	while(1) {
		bulletWorld->stepSimulation(1.0 / 60.0);
		OutputDebugString(to_wstring(sphere->getWorldTransform().getOrigin().getX()).c_str());
		OutputDebugString(L", ");
		OutputDebugString(to_wstring(sphere->getWorldTransform().getOrigin().getY()).c_str());
		OutputDebugString(L", ");
		OutputDebugString(to_wstring(sphere->getWorldTransform().getOrigin().getZ()).c_str());
		OutputDebugString(L"\n");
	}

First few values are 3.0 and lower, but eventually it stops at 0.000000, 1.000000, 0.000000 and just spams that.

(seems debugger and outputting to debug console gives different numbers; rounding?).

 

Im also visually debugging it and the sphere hits the ground and just starts rolling and rolling.Im going to try to recompile it and see if that helps.

 

EDIT:

recompiling it didn't make a difference. I still have no idea whats wrong.


Edited by BlueSpud, 07 August 2014 - 01:44 PM.


#6 Zaoshi Kaba   Crossbones+   -  Reputation: 4646

Like
1Likes
Like

Posted 07 August 2014 - 03:03 PM

That's weird. Could you try to replace your main / WinMain method with this code just to test whether you get correct results with minimal code?

And of course you'll need to fix Bullet paths.

#include <iostream>
using std::cout;
#include <DirectXMath.h>
using DirectX::XMFLOAT3;
#include "../Bullet Physics/btBulletCollisionCommon.h"
#include "../Bullet Physics/btBulletDynamicsCommon.h"
#pragma comment(lib, "../x64/Debug/Bullet Physics.lib")

btRigidBody* addRigidSpehere(float rad, XMFLOAT3 position)
{
	btTransform t;
	t.setIdentity();
	t.setOrigin(btVector3(position.x, position.y, position.z));

	btSphereShape* sphere = new btSphereShape(rad);

	//calculate inertia
	btVector3 inertia(0.0, 0.0, 0.0);
	sphere->calculateLocalInertia(1.0, inertia);

	btMotionState* motionState = new btDefaultMotionState(t);
	btRigidBody::btRigidBodyConstructionInfo info(1.0, motionState, sphere, inertia);
	btRigidBody* sphereBody = new btRigidBody(info);

	return sphereBody;
}

void main() {
	auto bulletConfiguration = new btDefaultCollisionConfiguration();
	auto bulletDispatcher = new btCollisionDispatcher(bulletConfiguration);
	auto bulletBroadPhaseInterface = new btDbvtBroadphase();
	auto bulletSolver = new btSequentialImpulseConstraintSolver();

	auto bulletWorld = new btDiscreteDynamicsWorld(bulletDispatcher, bulletBroadPhaseInterface, bulletSolver, bulletConfiguration);
	bulletWorld->setGravity(btVector3(0, -10, 0));

	btTransform t;
	t.setIdentity();
	t.setOrigin(btVector3(0, 0, 0));

	btStaticPlaneShape* plane = new btStaticPlaneShape(btVector3(0, 1, 0), 0.0);
	btMotionState* motionStatePlane = new btDefaultMotionState(t);
	btRigidBody::btRigidBodyConstructionInfo info(0.0, motionStatePlane, plane);
	btRigidBody* planeBody = new btRigidBody(info);

	bulletWorld->addRigidBody(planeBody);

	auto sphere = addRigidSpehere(1, XMFLOAT3(0, 3, 0));
	bulletWorld->addRigidBody(sphere);

	while(1) {
		bulletWorld->stepSimulation(1.0 / 60.0);
		cout << sphere->getWorldTransform().getOrigin().getX() << ", ";
		cout << sphere->getWorldTransform().getOrigin().getY() << ", ";
		cout << sphere->getWorldTransform().getOrigin().getZ() << "\n";
	}
}


#7 BlueSpud   Members   -  Reputation: 453

Like
1Likes
Like

Posted 07 August 2014 - 03:42 PM

 

That's weird. Could you try to replace your main / WinMain method with this code just to test whether you get correct results with minimal code?

And of course you'll need to fix Bullet paths.

#include <iostream>
using std::cout;
#include <DirectXMath.h>
using DirectX::XMFLOAT3;
#include "../Bullet Physics/btBulletCollisionCommon.h"
#include "../Bullet Physics/btBulletDynamicsCommon.h"
#pragma comment(lib, "../x64/Debug/Bullet Physics.lib")

btRigidBody* addRigidSpehere(float rad, XMFLOAT3 position)
{
	btTransform t;
	t.setIdentity();
	t.setOrigin(btVector3(position.x, position.y, position.z));

	btSphereShape* sphere = new btSphereShape(rad);

	//calculate inertia
	btVector3 inertia(0.0, 0.0, 0.0);
	sphere->calculateLocalInertia(1.0, inertia);

	btMotionState* motionState = new btDefaultMotionState(t);
	btRigidBody::btRigidBodyConstructionInfo info(1.0, motionState, sphere, inertia);
	btRigidBody* sphereBody = new btRigidBody(info);

	return sphereBody;
}

void main() {
	auto bulletConfiguration = new btDefaultCollisionConfiguration();
	auto bulletDispatcher = new btCollisionDispatcher(bulletConfiguration);
	auto bulletBroadPhaseInterface = new btDbvtBroadphase();
	auto bulletSolver = new btSequentialImpulseConstraintSolver();

	auto bulletWorld = new btDiscreteDynamicsWorld(bulletDispatcher, bulletBroadPhaseInterface, bulletSolver, bulletConfiguration);
	bulletWorld->setGravity(btVector3(0, -10, 0));

	btTransform t;
	t.setIdentity();
	t.setOrigin(btVector3(0, 0, 0));

	btStaticPlaneShape* plane = new btStaticPlaneShape(btVector3(0, 1, 0), 0.0);
	btMotionState* motionStatePlane = new btDefaultMotionState(t);
	btRigidBody::btRigidBodyConstructionInfo info(0.0, motionStatePlane, plane);
	btRigidBody* planeBody = new btRigidBody(info);

	bulletWorld->addRigidBody(planeBody);

	auto sphere = addRigidSpehere(1, XMFLOAT3(0, 3, 0));
	bulletWorld->addRigidBody(sphere);

	while(1) {
		bulletWorld->stepSimulation(1.0 / 60.0);
		cout << sphere->getWorldTransform().getOrigin().getX() << ", ";
		cout << sphere->getWorldTransform().getOrigin().getY() << ", ";
		cout << sphere->getWorldTransform().getOrigin().getZ() << "\n";
	}
}

No, same thing. Heres the output:

0, 2.99722, 0
0, 2.99167, 0
0, 2.98333, 0
0, 2.97222, 0
0, 2.95833, 0
0, 2.94167, 0
0, 2.92222, 0
0, 2.9, 0
0, 2.875, 0
0, 2.84722, 0
0, 2.81667, 0
0, 2.78333, 0
0, 2.74722, 0
0, 2.70833, 0
0, 2.66667, 0
0, 2.62222, 0
0, 2.575, 0
0, 2.525, 0
0, 2.47222, 0
0, 2.41667, 0
0, 2.35833, 0
0, 2.29722, 0
0, 2.23333, 0
0, 2.16667, 0
0, 2.09722, 0
0, 2.025, 0
0, 1.95, 0
0, 1.87222, 0
0, 1.79167, 0
0, 1.70833, 0
0, 1.62222, 0
0, 1.53333, 0
0, 1.44167, 0
0, 1.34722, 0
0, 1.25, 0
0, 1.15, 0
0, 1.04722, 0
0, 0.941667, 0
-0.00136054, 0.988333, 0
-0.00399887, 0.990667, 0
-0.00721497, 0.992533, 0
-0.0110322, 0.994027, 0
-0.0154692, 0.995221, 0
-0.0205409, 0.996177, 0
-0.0262592, 0.996942, 0
-0.0326338, 0.997553, 0
-0.0396722, 0.998043, 0
-0.0473806, 0.998434, 0
-0.0557639, 0.998747, 0
-0.064826, 0.998998, 0
-0.07457, 0.999198, 0
-0.0849984, 0.999359, 0
-0.0961132, 0.999487, 0
-0.107916, 0.99959, 0
-0.120408, 0.999672, 0
-0.133591, 0.999737, 0
-0.147464, 0.99979, 0
-0.16203, 0.999832, 0
-0.177288, 0.999865, 0
-0.193238, 0.999892, 0
-0.209882, 0.999914, 0
-0.227219, 0.999931, 0
-0.24525, 0.999945, 0
-0.263974, 0.999956, 0
-0.283393, 0.999965, 0
-0.303505, 0.999972, 0
-0.324311, 0.999977, 0
-0.345812, 0.999982, 0
-0.368007, 0.999986, 0
-0.390896, 0.999988, 0
-0.414479, 0.999991, 0
-0.438757, 0.999993, 0
-0.463729, 0.999994, 0
-0.489395, 0.999995, 0
-0.515756, 0.999996, 0
-0.542811, 0.999997, 0
-0.570561, 0.999998, 0
-0.599005, 0.999998, 0
-0.628143, 0.999998, 0
-0.657976, 0.999999, 0
-0.688503, 0.999999, 0
-0.719725, 0.999999, 0
-0.751641, 0.999999, 0
-0.784252, 1, 0
-0.817557, 1, 0
-0.851556, 1, 0
-0.88625, 1, 0
-0.921638, 1, 0
-0.957721, 1, 0
-0.994498, 1, 0
-1.03197, 1, 0
-1.07014, 1, 0
-1.109, 1, 0
-1.14855, 1, 0
-1.1888, 1, 0
-1.22975, 1, 0
-1.27138, 1, 0
-1.31372, 1, 0
-1.35674, 1, 0
-1.40047, 1, 0
-1.44488, 1, 0
-1.48999, 1, 0
-1.5358, 1, 0
-1.5823, 1, 0
-1.62949, 1, 0
-1.67738, 1, 0
-1.72596, 1, 0
-1.77524, 1, 0
-1.82521, 1, 0
-1.87588, 1, 0
-1.92724, 1, 0
-1.97929, 1, 0
-2.03204, 1, 0
-2.08549, 1, 0
-2.13962, 1, 0
-2.19446, 1, 0
-2.24998, 1, 0
-2.30621, 1, 0
-2.36312, 1, 0
-2.42073, 1, 0
-2.47904, 1, 0
-2.53804, 1, 0
-2.59773, 1, 0
-2.65812, 1, 0
-2.7192, 1, 0
-2.78098, 1, 0
-2.84345, 1, 0
-2.90662, 1, 0
-2.97048, 1, 0
-3.03503, 1, 0
-3.10028, 1, 0
-3.16623, 1, 0
-3.23286, 1, 0
-3.3002, 1, 0
-3.36822, 1, 0
-3.43695, 1, 0
-3.50636, 1, 0
-3.57647, 1, 0
-3.64728, 1, 0
-3.71878, 1, 0
-3.79097, 1, 0
-3.86386, 1, 0
-3.93744, 1, 0
-4.01172, 1, 0
-4.08669, 1, 0
-4.16236, 1, 0
-4.23872, 1, 0
-4.31577, 1, 0
-4.39352, 1, 0
-4.47197, 1, 0
-4.5511, 1, 0

It would seem that my issue is actually a compilation error, its listed in the bit hub here:

https://github.com/bulletphysics/bullet3/issues/49

I've been trying to compile bullet 3 as a .framework like I had done for 2.82, but to no avail. 

 

EDIT: luckily they posted the fix in a commit, so I was able to go into 2.82 and modify the code causing an issue, works like a dream now.


Edited by BlueSpud, 07 August 2014 - 03:55 PM.





Old topic!
Guest, the last post of this topic is over 60 days old and at this point you may not reply in this topic. If you wish to continue this conversation start a new topic.



PARTNERS