• Create Account

What data is needed to draw multiple textures on a single mesh surface?

• You cannot reply to this topic
4 replies to this topic

#1 primem0ver   Members   -  Reputation: 104

0Likes

Posted 07 August 2014 - 04:06 AM

I have experience with DirectX and am currently doing a project for a modding community (xlnation).  I am new to using multiple textures on a mesh and I need some help. (My only experience is using the old fashioned "1 size fits all" texture that covers the entire surface using u,v coordinates).  There are two things I am trying to figure out with this thread. 

1. I may or may not be able to figure out how to do it on my own but I could use some pointers on where to start.
  2. I am trying to decipher the data in a file that contains texture data for a spherical object's surface.  I need to know what basic information is needed to draw a texture on a mesh surface; specifically a sphere (The texture does NOT cover the entire surface).

I am going to discuss the file first because in discussing it, I should be able to get answers to the first question.

The file contains the information necessary to draw the globe.  The file is a binary file and has 20 bytes of information stored with each texture followed by the name of the texture file. (I am not including the 4 byte int value describing the length of the string representing the file name).  

My guess is that the 20 byte section of information contains 5 floats.  What information would these floating point numbers represent so that they could be used to draw a texture on the sphere that does NOT fill the entire sphere?

My original guess was:

some kind of location, (possibly the coordinate of the center of the texture), X,Y,Z

a rotation value

a scale value.

The problem I am facing with my guess is that the necessary size of the rotation value (a single float if I have guessed correctly) does not (in my mind) fit with using an x,y,z coordinate system.