What should I focus on?

Started by
3 comments, last by grobi993 9 years, 8 months ago

Hi!

I am currently studying IT - Engineering in a local college and I am a third year BSc student.

I would like to become a game developer (maybe an indie developer of some sort, though working at a triple A studio would be cool as well).

My question is what should I focus on?

I have done some SDL tutorials, and I've nearly read through the 2D part of an XNA book. XNA seems a bit more simpler and faster to develop with. Should I continue improving my XNA skills, or should I forget it because it is not supported by Microsoft anymore.

Should I focus on DirectX and OpenGL, though in my understanding those are more important for graphics and engine programmers, or are they as important for game programmers (scripters, AI programmers) as well?

There are a lot of options, and I can't choose the right path because I have no experience in this field.

A little help would be appreciated.

Thanks in advance!

Advertisement

Hi!

I am currently studying IT - Engineering in a local college and I am a third year BSc student.

I would like to become a game developer (maybe an indie developer of some sort, though working at a triple A studio would be cool as well).

My question is what should I focus on?

I have done some SDL tutorials, and I've nearly read through the 2D part of an XNA book. XNA seems a bit more simpler and faster to develop with. Should I continue improving my XNA skills, or should I forget it because it is not supported by Microsoft anymore.

Should I focus on DirectX and OpenGL, though in my understanding those are more important for graphics and engine programmers, or are they as important for game programmers (scripters, AI programmers) as well?

There are a lot of options, and I can't choose the right path because I have no experience in this field.

A little help would be appreciated.

Thanks in advance!

Here is what I suggest: