Jump to content

  • Log In with Google      Sign In   
  • Create Account

FREE SOFTWARE GIVEAWAY

We have 4 x Pro Licences (valued at $59 each) for 2d modular animation software Spriter to give away in this Thursday's GDNet Direct email newsletter.


Read more in this forum topic or make sure you're signed up (from the right-hand sidebar on the homepage) and read Thursday's newsletter to get in the running!


Include file not found in GCC, due to path size?


Old topic!
Guest, the last post of this topic is over 60 days old and at this point you may not reply in this topic. If you wish to continue this conversation start a new topic.

  • You cannot reply to this topic
6 replies to this topic

#1 __SKYe   Members   -  Reputation: 1103

Like
0Likes
Like

Posted 28 August 2014 - 01:32 PM

Ok, this warrants some explanation....

 

I use Windows to program, and up until a few months ago, i always used Microsoft Visual C++ IDE (2010, mainly).

But recently i wanted to start developing projects with multi platforms in mind (desktops only, no mobile), and also to experiment on using multiple compilers on the same project, to start writing portable code (both platform wise and compiler wise).

So, in order to do this, i started using Code::Blocks with both GCC and VC10 as the compilers.

 

My current project is fairly large, but hadn't been a problem until recently, that is, when compiling using GCC only.

 

I'll explain further.

 

When i compile my code using GCC, i get the error "file something.h": No such file or directory.

This would be trivial, if the file didn't actually exist, but i noticed that the problem is with the way GCC handles the relative paths to the included file.

 

Here's a concrete example:

 

In the "MaterialManager.h" file, i include:

#include "..\..\Shader Manager\_Manager\Program Shader Manager\ProgShaderManager.h" 

Now, say that Renderer includes "MaterialManager.h" (which as above, in turn, includes "ProgShaderManager.h").

 

The problem, is that after a few nested includes, GCC expands this to something like:

D:\ZTUFF\Projects\EDGE\Source\Engine\Systems\Renderer\Render Engine\_Implementations\Render_GL_MultiPass\..\..\..\..\..\Gameplay\Core Objects\Light Object\..\..\..\Game\State Manager\..\..\Resource Managers\Material Manager\_Manager\MaterialManager.h

And this is what is printed in the build log, right before the "No such file or directory".

In my opinion, the reason it fails, is that it exceeds the maximum path size for relative paths, in WIndows (the large string above, has 250 characters, and i think that when GCC tries to append yet another file name, it exceeds the 260 characters).

 

I've confirmed this, in that, if i replace any #include path that gives an error, by the it's absolute path, it works.

For example:

"D:\ZTUFF\Projects\EDGE\Source\Engine\Resources\Material Resource\MaterialResource.h"

I thought about prepending a macro of the project source code's absolute path to each #include path, but i would like to avoid if possible.

 

I should mention again, that VC10 never gave me this sort of problem.

 

Again, this may end up being a simple thing, that i am simply unaware of, since i'm not that much experienced in GCC, and if someone could enlighten me in how to avoid this problem, I'd be quite thankful.

 

Thanks in advance, and if there's something that is not clear, I'll work to explain it better.



Sponsor:

#2 Álvaro   Crossbones+   -  Reputation: 13934

Like
1Likes
Like

Posted 28 August 2014 - 01:41 PM

When you report something of this sort, you should probably indicate the version of GCC and the version of Windows you are using.

I found this after a couple of minutes of surfing the web: https://gcc.gnu.org/ml/gcc-patches/2013-10/msg01170.html

Does that help?

#3 SimonForsman   Crossbones+   -  Reputation: 6323

Like
0Likes
Like

Posted 28 August 2014 - 01:42 PM

You should probably use *nix style paths instead for a cross platform title (/ instead of \)

Edited by SimonForsman, 28 August 2014 - 01:43 PM.

I don't suffer from insanity, I'm enjoying every minute of it.
The voices in my head may not be real, but they have some good ideas!

#4 HappyCoder   Members   -  Reputation: 2886

Like
2Likes
Like

Posted 28 August 2014 - 03:13 PM

If you add the path D:\ZTUFF\Projects\EDGE\ as an include path for your project, you can include a file based on its absolute location relative to project

#include "Source\Engine\Resources\Material Resource\MaterialResource.h"


#5 frob   Moderators   -  Reputation: 22787

Like
3Likes
Like

Posted 28 August 2014 - 03:18 PM

Yup, replace those bad boys.

 

In the C language the use of \ in an #include is undefined behavior. (See C99 6.4.7.3 for several character sequences that are illegal or undefined.)

 

In C++ the processing is completely implementation defined. Specifically, "The appearance of either of the characters ’ or \ or of either of the character sequences /* or // in a q-char-sequence or an h-char-sequence is conditionally supported with implementation-defined semantics" with a footnote that "Thus, a sequence of characters that resembles an escape sequence might result in an error, be interpreted as the character corresponding to the escape sequence, or have a completely different meaning, depending on the implementation."

 

Even though you can normally encode character strings, the preprocessor include directive is handled differently.

 

Try #include "\u0066\u0069\u006c\u0065\u002e\u0068" and see what happens.  It could look for something called "file.h", it could look for file u0068 five directories deep, or it could do something else entirely.


Check out my book, Game Development with Unity, aimed at beginners who want to build fun games fast.

Also check out my personal website at bryanwagstaff.com, where I write about assorted stuff.


#6 KnolanCross   Members   -  Reputation: 1369

Like
1Likes
Like

Posted 28 August 2014 - 08:55 PM

You can also set the paths in the include search path of code::blocks. I use to do this in my linux/windows projects.

Currently working on a scene editor for ORX (http://orx-project.org), using kivy (http://kivy.org).


#7 __SKYe   Members   -  Reputation: 1103

Like
0Likes
Like

Posted 29 August 2014 - 02:56 AM

Well, that sure solves my probblem. You guys are awesome.

 

I guess a still got quite a bit to learn about multiplatform coding/compilers.

 

Also, i really forgot to say, and even though it doesn't really matter know, the GCC version is indeed 4.8.1, and the OS is Windows Vista. If anyone is wondering, this is also the reason why i use Visual C++ 2010 and not the most recent, because Vista is no longer supported.

 

Thanks a lot, really.






Old topic!
Guest, the last post of this topic is over 60 days old and at this point you may not reply in this topic. If you wish to continue this conversation start a new topic.



PARTNERS