Game industry advice

Started by
3 comments, last by Rubisk 9 years, 6 months ago
Hello everyone,

My name is Rubisk. For the last couple of years, I've been using Minecraft as an "engine" to create custom content. I've gone pretty far with it, and, on the way, made some very beginner steps into game design, picked up some basic python and java scripting. It's not really a proper engine for "games" but the maps I made in their were really the thing that got me thinking about game design in the first place (combined with Extra Credits). I've really enjoyed trying to implement basic game design principles in minecraft content. However, over the last few months, I've found myself very limited by the game, coming up with principles that just can't fit in the game as engine.

I'm currently in my final year on high school, and will probably study maths after, just because maths have always been something I find to be really interesting. I find programming interesting, as well as physics, although I can't really say I'm proficient with any programming language. At the moment, I am trying to find out if game design would be something I would enjoy doing. I don't feel like attending a game school, I don't want to find out after 6 months that I'm not the person to create games.

I have never been a real artist, I suck at drawing, photoshop, stuff like that. I've never written good stories or poems, they're just not my thing. I do find psychology interesting though, and I find it very interesting to try and find out why people think the way they do, and what they're perspective is.

Would game design be something for me, or should I stick to my fun and small minecraft projects? If I study maths, would it still be a possible option?