How to Hire Freelance Programmers?

Started by
4 comments, last by benlchristianson 9 years, 6 months ago

Not sure if this is the right forum for this question and topic, so, sorry in advance if I'm off.

I'm an illustrator and a senior in college, and I'll be graduating in december. I'm building a portfolio for concept art and game asset design, with emphasis for ios games, and thats how I hope to be fully supporting myself in one year's time.

I want to start hiring freelance programmers to help me make my first fully fledged game, and I'm not sure how to go about it. I don't know where to look for programmers who would be willing to help me make a game engine or a functional user interface or what have you. From what I know about how not to be a bad client, I figure the best thing to do would be to say, for example, "I need a game engine that revolves around side scrolling and uses X ammount of buttons, how much would this cost you to do and how much time?"

Where's the best place to start looking for freelance indie programmers? How much should I expect to pay for services? How much information should I know to ask for beforehand? I know next to nothing about how to hire a programmer, and google doesn't really tell me much about it, so if you guys know anything, I'd love to hear it.

Advertisement

I'm an illustrator and a senior in college, and I'll be graduating in december. ...
I want to start hiring freelance programmers to help me make my first fully fledged game

Why? What are you going to do with the game once they've programmed it? Do you have a lot of money?

-- Tom Sloper -- sloperama.com