Should I keep a dev/programming journal?

Started by
5 comments, last by Jason Z 9 years, 4 months ago

Hello!

I'm relatively new to gamedev.net, and I've noticed the "Journal" tab on the profile page of this site. Is it beneficial, or otherwise recommended, to keep a development journal, and, if so, what should I put in this journal?(e.g. lessons learned, activities performed, code written, progress made.) Also, do you prefer to keep a pencil-and-paper journal, or a typed one? I am very new to game developing/programming, so this is a new concept to me.

(Also, I didn't really know whether to put this in the general Game Development forum, or the Game Programming sub-forum, so apologies if this is not where the post should be smile.png)

Cheers,

boxnuggets

Advertisement

Hello!
I'm relatively new to gamedev.net, and I've noticed the "Journal" tab on the profile page of this site. Is it beneficial, or otherwise recommended, to keep a development journal, and, if so, what should I put in this journal?(e.g. lessons learned, activities performed, code written, progress made.) Also, do you prefer to keep a pencil-and-paper journal, or a typed one? I am very new to game developing/programming, so this is a new concept to me.

(Also, I didn't really know whether to put this in the general Game Development forum, or the Game Programming sub-forum, so apologies if this is not where the post should be smile.png)

Cheers,
boxnuggets

It's not some magical game development specialty or anything, the journal feature is just a gamedev thing to let people ramble about their ideas, implementations they've tried, game progress, so on.

Should you have some kind of journal/blog for your work? That is totally up to you. Some people do it as a way to keep themselves motivated, even if nobody is necessarily reading it forces them to commit to posting about what they've done periodically, and they get a bit embarassed when they have nothing to write about.