Component Based Magic System

Started by
8 comments, last by Questioning 9 years, 2 months ago

Ok so this is purely a thought exercise for myself for some possible future work.

I have a system that will have spells, these spells will need to collide and then do whatever their effect is.

The spells:

• Type - this is an enum as in Fire, Water, Dark, Light, Poison etc
  • A list of components - these are things such as a "damage component" a "timed component" (for damage / heal over time) and an "area of effect component"
    • Note I am not sure I need the AoE and Timed components. Am I over engineering this?
  • It would also have a "collidable" and "render" component to draw and collide

Now this is where I get stuck.

How do I spawn these spells? If I don't want coupling how do I add them to my "projectile list"? How do I process the collisions and then transfer the effects to the effected entities?

I'm new to component / entity based designs so any help would be very appreciated. A point in the right direction to some source code, a blog or even a book would be very appreciated.

Thanks.

PS: If you want to give code example stick to pseudocode, C++, C#, C or Java

EDIT: Also...networking? Any resources on networking a component based system?

Advertisement

For what you've described I can see 2 different entities needed, and I think you might be confusing them.

1) There is a spell entity that is in the user's inventory (or somewhere). This describes the information needed to create the spell (fire the projectile, etc...). It might also contain some sort of sprite component so it can be rendered in the UI. The SpellDescription component might include stuff like damage; or possibly that could be a separate Damage component? Your game's UI somehow uses this information to create a projectile entity when the player casts a spell.