• Create Account

Banner advertising on our site currently available from just $5!

1. Learn about the promo. 2. Sign up for GDNet+. 3. Set up your advert!

I am 21 years of age, with absolutely zero knowledge of Coding/Programming. HELP!

• You cannot reply to this topic
4 replies to this topic

#1 Camfitzsmith   Members   -  Reputation: 101

0Likes

Posted Today, 02:53 PM

I have began the arduous task of trying to figure out how to get some traction in learning Game Development. I have fallen in love with the idea of making programs and games of my own from the ground up, my own "baby" if you will. I bought Sam's Teach Yourself C++ by Siddhartha Rao as a sort of stepping stone into it all, but as I soon found out C++ is not so complete noob friendly and I very quickly was underwater. 

After reading a few threads on gamedev.net's forums and I believe I've landed on Python as the language I would like to get started with. My main question I suppose is now what? College is not really an option, could anyone suggest an online site to begin with or perhaps even a really good textbook? Or any advice from people who have been in my shoes or anything really would be greatly appreciated.

Sponsor:

#2 braindigitalis   Crossbones+   -  Reputation: 3839

1Likes

Posted Today, 02:59 PM

Dive in the deep end.

Personally I learn best by example. Lots of open source games are written with pygame and python, where you can read and edit, and learn from the source.

Make a copy and break and fix it until it makes sense.

Good luck!

Games Currently In Development:
Currently rewriting Firework Factory - Casual Puzzler for PC in Direct3D 11. Latest Journal Entry: Level Completion Animation (10-Mar-2015).

#3 jacmoe   Members   -  Reputation: 738

2Likes

Posted Today, 03:00 PM

I would probably hang out with the Panda3D community if I were you. smile.png

Joining a group of other people with the same goals/interest is always very motivating.