Is it necessary to license your game?

Started by
23 comments, last by JohnnyCode 8 years, 4 months ago

Hey guys,

Long story short, Im an independent developer and i haven't had this issue with my last game. A composer who has much experience in the films industry and none in the games industry insists that i license the current game I'm developing.

Any thoughts?

Thanks!

Advertisement
What do you mean, "license my game"? License to whom or from whom, to do what?

-- Tom Sloper -- sloperama.com

It is implicit that everything you are the author of, you are also the exclusive license owner of.

You need to rather license onto yourself things you are not the author of, what would rather be the creations of your music/sound composer for example.

The authorships and licenses/exclusive licenses attributions, are also the topics to solve in front of all potential law suings. You need to document, that if you contracted someone, that he has been understood with license/exclusive license attribution onto you for the particular creation for the compensation delt.

So carefully license things you incorporate to your game that has been crated by someone else, there are cases of hobby/indie teams unable to release a game becouse some ex-workers left the team and does not alllow for usage of their work anymore.

Clarification is needed. Your composer tells you to license your game, and you didn't do that with your previous one.

That means that you made a game and...

• didn't show it to anyone? That is, you did not publish/distribute it?
  • gave it away for free, and didn't make mention of a license?
  • sold it, but didn't specify a license?
  • something different?

Or, the composer wants you to buy a license for the music he made for you?

These are all very different things. Some are more harmless, some are mostly harmless, and some are outright troublesome.