skinned mesh triangle count

Started by
14 comments, last by Norman Barrows 8 years, 10 months ago

if i'm shooting for about 100 skinned meshes onscreen at once, what sort of triangle count should i be looking at? less than 20K per character? , less than 10K? 5K? 2K? 1500?

this is my first time doing skinned meshes, i'm not sure how low i have to go on the poly budget.

Norm Barrows

Rockland Software Productions

"Building PC games since 1989"

rocklandsoftware.net

PLAY CAVEMAN NOW!

http://rocklandsoftware.net/beta.php

Advertisement

5472. Not more, not less.

Assuming your intent is maintain a reasonable frame rate, the poly count isn't as nearly as important (if even relevant) as the time it takes to prepare for and perform the rendering. And that depends on the efficiency of the entire process, both on the CPU side as well as the GPU side. E.g., vertex skinning on the CPU isn't nearly as efficient as shader skinning can be. Updating animation parameters that haven't changed is a waste of time. Rendering two skinned meshes with separate draw calls isn't as efficient as rendering both with one draw call if they use the same parameters. A model that has only 2 influence bones per vertex rendered with a shader that does calcs assuming only 2 weights will be faster than a model with 4 weights per vertex.

I would suggest you first get a working process running. Then, if needed, profile the process to determine where improvements could be made.

Please don't PM me with questions. Post them in the forums for everyone's benefit, and I can embarrass myself publicly.

You don't forget how to play when you grow old; you grow old when you forget how to play.

I would suggest you first get a working process running. Then, if needed, profile the process to determine where improvements could be made.

i've got all the code up and running.

its just a test routine off the tools menu in Caveman 3.0, but it does the following: