Slow down when using OpenMP with stl vector per thread

Started by
28 comments, last by Tom Sloper 6 years, 5 months ago

Hi,

I'm new to OpenMP and for the second time i notice a slow down in code like this:

const Graph::GraphData &graph = graphPerPart[part];

#pragma omp parallel for
for (int borderIndex = 0; borderIndex < newBorders.size(); borderIndex++)

{
int source = borders[borderIndex].FirstVertex(*mesh);
int target = borders[borderIndex].LastVertex(*mesh);

std::vector<float> min_distance;
std::vector<int> previous;

Graph::DijkstraComputePaths (source, graph.vertex_adjacency_list, min_distance, previous); // this grows both vectors

newBorders[borderIndex].DoSomethingWithTheClosestPath (previous, target, ...); // this also grows some std::vectors
}

OMP code runs only 0.75 times as fasat as single threaded (VS 2013, quad core).

I guess it is because each thread has to manage memory for the stl::vectors - can this be true and is there a clue to fix this?

This is for a preprocessing tool and avoiding stl surely isn't worth the time,

but usually i get the expected speed ups with very little affort so i'm curious.

Also i'd like to know if OpenMP can get closely as fast as other multithreading techniques for runtime code, because it's so easy to use.

Advertisement
Threading is not a "magic wand". It will not speed up your code unless you design it to be threaded, and will most likely slow down your code if not utilized correctly (or worse, corrupt your data and crash your program).

What vectors are growing? What locking mechanisms are you using to make sure you don't corrupt memory? How are you sharing memory?

And most importantly - have you run it in a profiling tool to see where all your time is spent?

There is no synchronization or shared memory necessary here (I'm aware of those issues from GPGPU).