Roadmap for a 3d Top-Down RPG game

Started by
5 comments, last by Tom Sloper 7 years, 3 months ago

Hey guys,

I'm an experienced systems programmer and my hobby is game programming. As I love 3d Top Down Rpg action games, i would like to make my own world. so far i ve achieved this :

its just camera, click to move, and animations based on player state (moving, idle, attacking)

but i seriously dont have any ideas how to implement combat system with animations and effects. is there any resource explaning the algorithyms from scratch (like how to implement animations on hit and calculating combat stats) ? i ve found a lot of resources about FPS games but no luck on RPG games.

I dont mind code examples but i really need to know the basic ideas.

thanks for your time.

Advertisement

Don't think there are actual differences between an fps and an rpg when it comes to animations during combat.

At the basic level you have to check if A hits B (using skill values or simply if B is close enough to A when A blows the hit) and then, if true, play B's animation (change its state like you already do with the walk/idle)

EDIT:

By the way, what are you using? Unity? All from scracth?

hey thanks for your reply, im using unity

but my question was a complete rpg game with all the necessary mechanics, item trades, mounting etc. not just combat.

to your answer, i ve already managed to check the range and then change the state to attacking, i couldnt figure it out when to decrease health based on animation and also attack could be cancelled. this way it wont be a double click fest. what im trying to achieve is similar to LoL. its all based on skillshots and dodging them.