How much performance improvement does SSE provide?

Started by
10 comments, last by thatguyfromthething 8 years, 9 months ago

I'm new to SSE.

My take is that the basic theory is to pack four instructions together and issue it in one go. And it is compatible with multi-threading.

The question is how much performance gain do we usually have after optimizing your program with SSE, especially for the math library.

I'm not expecting four times boost, however I do expect twice performance. Is it possible?

(Let's assume that your program is highly CPU bounded at math computation.)

My simple experiment with SSE shows that it drops more than 40% cost than without SSE solution. Close to twice performance than before.

Is it normal?

Any tip is welcome.

Advertisement

My take is that the basic theory is to pack four instructions together and issue it in one go.

A single instruction that works on 2 or 4 inputs simultaneously.

And it is compatible with multi-threading.

All single instructions are atomic with regards to in/out reads/writes.

The question is how much performance gain do we usually have after optimizing your program with SSE, especially for the math library.

This depends on many factors, especially on how many SIMD instructions you can string together in order to avoid loading and flushing data and on the instruction set (which I assume to be x86 here since you are mentioning SSE). Some SIMD instructions perform 2 operations (multiply-add for example) or can otherwise replace multiple single-data instructions algorithmicly, resulting in even greater performance.

I'm not expecting four times boost, however I do expect twice performance. Is it possible?

Very generally speaking 3 times is reasonable.

My simple experiment with SSE shows that it drops more than 40% cost than without SSE solution. Close to twice performance than before.

Is it normal?