Microphone for sound recording for a gamedesigner...?

Started by
5 comments, last by CCH Audio 8 years, 9 months ago

Hello

Im a game designer, but who worked profesionally mainly as a graphics designer, we are putting together a team and will be working on our game.

We will of course hire some sound designer, but i want the ability and flexibility to record sounds for our game also bymyself.

Our game takes place in the real mostly realistic world so i do not need any "exotic" sounds like aliens or something "abstract", just quite normal sounds...

Not all of them can be found online (not the specific type i want, i dont want to pay so much for it, its not in a good quality etc.) and as i said i would like to record time to time some sounds for our game myself. The biggest amount of our sounds will be of course dealth with with our musician/sound designer.

I have one simple question- What microphone would you recomend me for recording? Im quite noobish in all audio stuff/world so i dont have a clue.

I will be recording dont outdoor and indoor, i need the microphone to be mobile of course, I DO NOT want anything expensive since theres no reason for that, the upper limit is probably 120 USD, but the cheaper the better, i believe i should be able to get something useable even for around 20 USD??

Please recomned something for me special (cheap) needs.

thank you

Advertisement

Also how to record stereo sound? Does all the micprohones record stereo sounds these days automaticaly? or do i need 2 micprohones to record stereo sound? (asi i said im noobie in audio world)

Yamaha and Tascam make portable recorders in that price range ($100-$150). Most portable recorders record in a stereo XY pattern,