Jump to content

  • Log In with Google      Sign In   
  • Create Account

We're offering banner ads on our site from just $5!

1. Details HERE. 2. GDNet+ Subscriptions HERE. 3. Ad upload HERE.


Fullscreen OpenGL


Old topic!
Guest, the last post of this topic is over 60 days old and at this point you may not reply in this topic. If you wish to continue this conversation start a new topic.

  • You cannot reply to this topic
6 replies to this topic

#1 acw83   Members   -  Reputation: 174

Like
Likes
Like

Posted 18 January 2000 - 11:20 AM

I can get a fullscreen app in the current video resolution but how can I change the resolution? Direct X? Windows API? Thanks.

Sponsor:

#2 Anonymous Poster_Anonymous Poster_*   Guests   -  Reputation:

Likes

Posted 18 January 2000 - 11:28 AM

Use the ChangeDisplaySettings function.

#3 Heinzah   Members   -  Reputation: 122

Like
Likes
Like

Posted 18 January 2000 - 11:45 AM

Specifically, do something like this:

DEVMODE devMode;
memset( &devMode, 0, sizeof( devMode ) );
devMode.dmSize = sizeof( devMode );
devMode.dmPelsWidth = ;
devMode.dmPelsHeight = ;
devMode.dmFields = DM_PELSWIDTH / DM_PELSHEIGHT;
( note that the slash in the above line is really a vertical OR symbol--it just won't display correctly on this site )

ChangeDisplaySettings( &devMode, CDS_FULLSCREEN );

I'm not sure if CDS_FULLSCREEN actually does anything or not, but it can't hurt. This will succeed only if your video card and monitor are capable of the resolution you specify. To find out what resolutions are available, use the EnumDisplaySettings function.

--Heinzah

Edited by - Heinzah on 1/21/00 11:37:01 AM

#4 acw83   Members   -  Reputation: 174

Like
Likes
Like

Posted 18 January 2000 - 12:03 PM

Thanks

#5 SiCrane   Moderators   -  Reputation: 9629

Like
Likes
Like

Posted 18 January 2000 - 03:25 PM

If you''re using glut, glutFullScreen() will make the app fullscreen in whatever the current screen resolution is.

#6 druid-   Members   -  Reputation: 122

Like
Likes
Like

Posted 21 January 2000 - 05:30 AM

There can be some strange results depending on which order you call all the functions to set up OpenGL and then change the resolution - moving and resizing windows is one of the most annoying.

It would be a good idea to take a look at Ryan Haksi''s setup code in his gldemo. That''s the best freely available implementation I''ve seen. Plus he has a lot of other really useful code in there.

http://members.home.com/borealis/opengl.html




Scott Franke [druid-]
sfranke@usc.edu
druid-'s GL Journal
http://www.gamedev.net/opengl


#7 Dan Smith   Members   -  Reputation: 122

Like
Likes
Like

Posted 21 January 2000 - 10:04 AM

There is some code on 3DGameDev in the Source Code section showing how to use OpenGL in Fullscreen.

Link

-Dan Smith
dans@3dgamedev.com





Old topic!
Guest, the last post of this topic is over 60 days old and at this point you may not reply in this topic. If you wish to continue this conversation start a new topic.



PARTNERS