taking a job in AI and coming back to gaming?

Started by
6 comments, last by Ashkan Mohseni 8 years, 7 months ago

hello lovely guys and gals,

so i have just finished uni with a bachelor degree in computer science and intelligent systems. but i want to get into gaming. i have already made a game using unity (its called tune escapist and you can play it in kongregate) and i have made a cv. but of course since i have little experience in game development and software development in general, the offers are not pouring in. i have had only two interviews for paid game dev positions in a span of 2 weeks (one of them i screwed up and the other one is tomorrow) i have also got an interview for a job in R&D for computer vision and machine learning today. yes R&D!!! but of course game dev interests me more. so i was wondering would it be wise to take this job (if the interview goes well of course) or is it better for me to wait until i become employable for a game dev job? after all my skills (however limited) are in computer vision and machine learning and things like that. the language they use is C++ which, as far as i know, is the language used in all big game studios to write their engines. i would imagine that the skills learned would be directly transferable to game dev.

Advertisement

actually i just realised it's a recruitment agency, but still the question stands

I would take the R&D job. Then take whatever skills learned at that job and apply them to hobbyist game dev endeavors. Plus, and I'm just guessing, it would be easier to get a game dev job (especially in AI or VR) with that actual job experience and some finished hobby games under your belt.

And I'm sure Tom Sloper is going to move this thread ;)

Beginner in Game Development?  Read here. And read here.

is it better for me to wait until i become employable for a game dev job

It's always easier to find work while you're employed than when you're out of work.