Looking for feedback on menu system design

Started by
7 comments, last by wintertime 8 years, 5 months ago

Hi all,

So, i've spent the last few weeks developing and designing the menu system for my game. I'm now seeking feedback on things i can do to improve it, as shown on the video below:

I'm after constructive feedback, be it critical or not - and i'm not too sure where this belongs as i'm after all round design feedback about the user experience, audio and visual styling of the menus so it doesn't really belong in visual arts or music and sound.

Based on previous feedback i've already turned down some excessive bloom to make the fonts more readable, and i've picked a more readable font for my title (previously the old english style font used here was making the V look like a lower case B). I've also made sure that where possible i've stuck to a simple readable font for options, widgets etc, as i'm no expert in typography (i'm a programmer) and want something people will be able to understand.

I'm also aware that a lot of people hate transitions and want to just get into the thick of things so i don't intend to have transitions at all on the 'start game' or 'load game' options, these will just drop people straight to where they want to go. I've put the transitions on the options screens, as people don't go into these often apart from the first time they run the game or if they get new hardware.

Please offer your feedback below smile.png

Thanks!

Edit: It seems youtube is playing silly with me right now and i'm getting an internal youtube error when trying to play the video. If you also get this, just click the 'play in youtube' button on the video player and it seems to play fine. odd...

Advertisement
Is this video from before or after you reduced bloom? The text current looks a bit washed out to me. Other than that, this looks just as good as anything I would expect in a $15-$50 steam game.