Texturing tools you should know about

Started by
5 comments, last by dpadam450 8 years, 5 months ago
I'm assuming less programmers know about these tools than should. I need to spend some time learning these at some point but the artist workflow nowadays seems so much nicer.

These are some videos of Substance and some things it can do. The particle effects is a really cool feature.

That's about it. If you have any experience with these, or more to say about them, then share it.

NBA2K, Madden, Maneater, Killing Floor, Sims http://www.pawlowskipinball.com/pinballeternal

Advertisement

Substance has integration with Unreal 4 and Unity, so is worth looking at by any dev team using either.

The texture compositing tools are awesome.

Are these specifically aimed at AAA studios? Any suitable for indie devs?

I've never used a texturing tool before. How does it work with models from say 3ds max? Whats the workflow like?

They are aimed at speeding up texturing processes. It has nothing to do with where the models came from. As long as you have a model with UV's and a normal map it is a good tool.

If you look at just about any hard surface model, people spend time going around every edge to create "edge wear". In one of the links I posted you can see how it automatically does this with a button and a slider. And it creates edge wear on the entire model. Something you would have to perform manually. You also do have the option to select brushes and paint directly onto the 3d model using projection, rather than in photoshop working in 2D.

Typically you have grunge brushes and scratches etc that go on the surfaces and it can place these for you as well.

Also for PBR it supports painting materials so it has the proper metal/reflective properties. It also helps that all of this stuff updates in real time and you get to see your work immediately.

NBA2K, Madden, Maneater, Killing Floor, Sims http://www.pawlowskipinball.com/pinballeternal