Platforms to Target

Started by
1 comment, last by Hego Damask 8 years, 5 months ago

Hello everyone-

This is my first post here, and I wanted to ask about which platforms you target. I'm a CS student at a prominent university, and I've done some game programming before, but never actually released a game. I'm stuck on campus with a couple friends during a break coming up that lasts a week, and I thought it would be fun to actually release something (quite simple, of course), or at least get a simple game started and finished by the larger break coming up in a couple weeks. I consider myself a fairly skilled coder, more than capable of whipping something together (assuming my friend makes a few sprites and whatnot), but I was curious as to which platforms I ought to target. I've been doing iOS development for some time, and I know quite well that it's nearly impossible to get any traction/visibility there without lots of funding, VC money, etc. I'm assuming I shouldn't be focusing on mobile platforms, and after perusing this forum I see that some people submit games to various directories. I wanted to hear from any indies out there who are making small amounts of income, what platforms do you recommend to target for development? I really hate marketing, and I'm already pretty bogged down on an actual venture, so this is really just to learn something, spend a week in a productive way, and I'd be happy if I ended up making $10 per month (honestly). I appreciate all the help! Thanks so much!

Advertisement

I've been doing iOS development for some time, and I know quite well that it's nearly impossible to get any traction/visibility there ... this is really just to learn something, spend a week in a productive way

If it's for the experience, then unprofitability shouldn't deter you from using the platform that you're familiar with :)

I'd be happy if I ended up making $10 per month