Starting Point For Game Development as a Career

Started by
8 comments, last by paraph 7 years, 11 months ago

Hello to all

I have recently taken an online course in Unity and a host of other programs like Maya,Mudbox,3DS Max and Photoshop.The issue I am having is where do I start in terms of game development professionally.I am a beginner so I am looking for any opportunity to learn and grow as a Game Designer are they any websites that are recruiting beginners for any kinda of work or practice in Game Design?I have been fiddling and learning for about 6 months now and have created some pretty basic levels as well as experimentation with primitive modelling in Maya and a bit of animation.Any tips ,advice or pointers that can lead me in a good direction are most greatly appreciated.Anyone care to give it a shot? :rolleyes: :D

Advertisement

I would suggest just making games. Test your skills with those tools to make a small game from start to finish; focus on the aspects that you'd want to showcase to an employer (do you want to be an artist? make the art stand out!).

Each position you apply for is going to want different things, but most of them don't want just "experience with x", they want "experience developing with x" (meaning working on a project as a whole, and often time shipping the project).

The absolute most surefire way (that may be an exaggeration) to find out what you need to do to get a job in game development is to look at job-postings (there are a lot of game-dev jobs posted on job boards on the internet) and look at what they want.

Inspiration from my tea:

"Never wish life were easier. Wish that you were better" -Jim Rohn

soundcloud.com/herwrathmustbedragons

1. Subject: Starting Point For Game Designing as a Career
2. I have recently taken an online course in Unity and a host of other programs like Maya,Mudbox,3DS Max
and Photoshop.
3. are they any websites that are recruiting beginners for any kinda of work or practice in Game Design?