[GameMaker:Studio] How to skip a frame after a code repeat

Started by
5 comments, last by Zoehawks 7 years, 10 months ago

Hey guys, im new at this so i dont have a lot of experience but im developing a 2d game and i dont want to use the Game Maker movement controls, i want to make my own code for it, and i was doing it well until i noticed the player stops quickly and i want him to continue walking a few moments after i stop pressing the direction button, then i did this code here:

///Stop slowly
repeat(10)
{
while(walking_speed > 0)
{
while(walking_direction == 1)
{
x = x-walking_speed;
walking_speed -= 1;
if(walking_speed = 0)
{
walking_direction = 0;
}
}
while(walking_direction == 2)
{
x = x+walking_speed;
walking_speed -= 1;
if(walking_speed = 0)
{
walking_direction = 0;
}
}
}
}
Thats Game Maker code. Then, what it does is repeat that code 10 times (as the maximum walking_speed is 10, then it would be subtracting 1 to the walking_speed every time the code runs) and the code works, my problem is this one: The code runs the 10 times at the same time. I need it to run once every frame, and i actually dont have idea of how to do it.
This should be a really easy code, but i repeat, im new at this. Also i want to make a good game.
Thanks for reading.
Advertisement

Yeah, you are going about it the wrong way. You will need to take the code in the repeat statement, and only run it once per frame in the step event. You have the walking speed variable. Since you didn't create it with the "var" keyword, it will stay around between frames. So each frame, if walking speed is greater than zero, and you are not currently pressing the direction buttons to make it walk, then you can lower that speed.

Alternatively, there is a built-in friction variable. If you use the built in movement, with vspeed, hspeed, etc... then you can simply make friction some value if you are not pressing a movement key, and it will automatically decrease your movement speed based on that.