Looking for feedback on my first game, Endless Breakout (pygame)

Started by
4 comments, last by Andrew_ 7 years, 8 months ago

Hi, I’m pretty new to game development, and I’ve spent about a couple weeks on the following game:

https://github.com/Andrew-RK/Endless-Breakout

Endless Breakout is a breakout game where you have to survive as long as possible, by keeping an ever increasing number of balls from going out of bounds. I’ve been coding it in python using the pygame library. I’ve also got some additional features I'd like to add in the future, such as targets to aim the balls at for survival and scoring benefits. Feedback from both a gameplay perspective and a programming perspective would be helpful. Also added older versions of my game for comparison sake.

I'd also like to add that I'm not just making a breakout game because it's easy to make. I'm also a big fan of breakout games and used to play them quite a bit, such as Ricochet Infinity, Shatter, and Alphabounce. There's actually quite a few ideas related to breakout that I'd like to prototype, so this won't be the last time I make a game with a ball and paddle. Despite all the breakout games that currently exist, I believe that there's still potential for interesting mechanics in the genre, so it's definitely something I want to come back to further down the road, when I have more experience under my belt.

My best score in v0.3.1 of this game is 6628.

Advertisement

For reference, I looked at
https://github.com/Andrew-RK/Endless-Breakout/blob/a06551fd03a44684f2ca4591beb65f3edcce0a10/ebalphav031.py

I just picked some things that I spotted, hopefully these are useful.

if int(ElapsedTime % 1000 < 10):
    displayMilliseconds = '00'+str(int(ElapsedTime % 1000))
elif int(ElapsedTime % 1000 < 100):
    displayMilliseconds = '0'+str(int(ElapsedTime % 1000))
else:
    displayMilliseconds = str(int(ElapsedTime % 1000))