• Create Account

We're offering banner ads on our site from just $5!

1. Details HERE. 2. GDNet+ Subscriptions HERE. 3. Ad upload HERE.

Any C++ newbie or wants to learn pls read

Old topic!
Guest, the last post of this topic is over 60 days old and at this point you may not reply in this topic. If you wish to continue this conversation start a new topic.

• You cannot reply to this topic
19 replies to this topic

#1 TotalCoder   Members   -  Reputation: 122

Posted 10 December 2001 - 04:32 PM

Hi, Anyone interested in learning C++ please take a look at my tutorial and let me know what more I can change or add so that it better targets the novice. This tutorial is geared towards the complete novice and shows them how to get Borland C++ 5.5 up and running on the Windows platform. I would really appreciate your feedback. Please goto http://www.totalcoder.com and look at the Borland C++ 5.5 tutorial, and either post your comments and/or suggestions here or on the site. Sam ----- TotalCoder http://www.totalcoder.com "Resources, tutorials, and articles for the novice, part-time, and hobbyist programmer"

Sponsor:

#2 Null and Void   Moderators   -  Reputation: 1087

Posted 10 December 2001 - 04:42 PM

You have a typo on your #include line (the less than and greater than). Use < and > for less than and greater than symbols, respectively. C++ compliance issues: You should be including iostream, not iostream.h; you should also use std::cout instead of cout if you do that (or put "using namespace std" in there somewhere). Somehow I doubt you should debate whether C or C++ is better in a compiler related tutorial, but to each his own I guess.

[Resist Windows XP''s Invasive Production Activation Technology!]

#3 polly   Members   -  Reputation: 532

Posted 11 December 2001 - 12:25 AM

Hi Sam,