Jump to content

  • Log In with Google      Sign In   
  • Create Account

OGL+DDraw Don't hit me! Just answer the question!


Old topic!
Guest, the last post of this topic is over 60 days old and at this point you may not reply in this topic. If you wish to continue this conversation start a new topic.

  • You cannot reply to this topic
8 replies to this topic

#1 MAX-C   Members   -  Reputation: 122

Like
Likes
Like

Posted 27 January 2000 - 02:18 AM

Ok, how do you do it? What is replaced? Nothing? Do you still have to use all the GDI stuff like PIXEL FORMAT DESCRIPTORs and Set and Get this and that and Swap Buffer type stuff? What I want to do is 3D stuff using OpenGL to a DDSuface and then effectively overlay 2D stuff on the top of the rendered stuff before pushing it to the front buffer. I know this is a sore topic and you will probably all tell me to RDTL but I can''t see any topics on this. So if you can tell me how to see more than 3 pages of previous topics or point me at a web, msdn or book reference that will tell me what I need to do then that will be just as good. Thanks in advance and extra thanks for not throwing anything. MAX-C If I didn''t need to eat or sleep I wouldn''t need to ask these stupid questions...

Sponsor:

#2 s9801758   Members   -  Reputation: 122

Like
Likes
Like

Posted 27 January 2000 - 02:48 AM

The reason because you haven''t found any topics on the matter is because it isn''t possible.

Microsoft promised to implement ogl bindings in ddraw a couple of years ago, but they didn''t, because they were afraid that ogl would become more popular then d3d.

So make a choice. Either use ogl + gdi, d3d + ddraw, software rasterizer+ ddraw, or something else

Anyway, goodluck.

Japio

#3 Staffan   Members   -  Reputation: 122

Like
Likes
Like

Posted 27 January 2000 - 05:25 AM

Why would MS be afraid of OpenGL being more popular than D3D? After all they bought (or whatever) OpenGL from SGI not to long ago (a year?).

#4 Anonymous Poster_Anonymous Poster_*   Guests   -  Reputation:

Likes

Posted 27 January 2000 - 05:31 AM

If you read the description of Baldurs Gate II it looks like they are supporting OpenGL for 3D accelerated effects and for Fog of War. I think that their engine is almost completely written using DDraw. Does anyone know how they are combining the 2 technologies? I also think that I read that Diablo II is going to do something similiar.



#5 Ranok   Members   -  Reputation: 122

Like
Likes
Like

Posted 27 January 2000 - 08:54 AM

I believe the way Baulder''s Gate II and Diablo II have OpenGL, Direct3D, and DirectDraw rendering is that they have implemented their drawing functions in each of them seperatly. ie. They are not used together, just seperately. Just like Quake, Unreal, and Half-Life all have different rendering engines, so do their games.

#6 MAX-C   Members   -  Reputation: 122

Like
Likes
Like

Posted 27 January 2000 - 03:31 PM

So does that mean that I can''t render to my DDSurface?

Do any of you have any idea if I could render to a block of memory with OpenGL, an off screen surface?

And then Blit it into the Back surface...

Or is this going to get incredibly complex and/or slow...

Anyone?

BTW, thanks for not all going off your rocker at me.

MAX-C
If I didn''t need to eat or sleep I wouldn''t need to ask these stupid questions...

#7 Nomad   Members   -  Reputation: 122

Like
Likes
Like

Posted 27 January 2000 - 03:39 PM

I believe the technology which combines D3D DDraw and OpenGL, was called farenheit, and it fell through. basically if you wanna overlay 2d stuff in ogl ise a raster bitmap and just put it on top of your game screen. or use D3D and DDraw. Farenheit would have been sweet, The simplicity of OpenGL but the feature set of D3D and DDraw, but i think there was a mutual pulling out, because microsoft saw the viability of plain D3D and SGI saw the viability and spreading support of OpenGL.

Hope I helped,
Nomad

#8 voodoo   Members   -  Reputation: 122

Like
Likes
Like

Posted 28 January 2000 - 08:50 AM

Another way od doing it is by creating a rectangle of 2 triangles and texturing it and displaying it flat. Do all your transformations and then put your textured rectangle on an x,y location. This way you open up whole bunch of possibilities for user interfaces etc...

#9 MAX-C   Members   -  Reputation: 122

Like
Likes
Like

Posted 28 January 2000 - 02:07 PM

Okay, thanks for your help guys/girls.

I will give both suggestions a go (Nomad/Voodoo).

I only just know what I am doing so I will no doubt be back...


Later, I''m off to code stuff!


MAX-C
If I didn''t need to eat or sleep I wouldn''t need to ask these stupid questions...




Old topic!
Guest, the last post of this topic is over 60 days old and at this point you may not reply in this topic. If you wish to continue this conversation start a new topic.



PARTNERS