Jump to content

  • Log In with Google      Sign In   
  • Create Account


Whats the standard amount of RAM?


Old topic!
Guest, the last post of this topic is over 60 days old and at this point you may not reply in this topic. If you wish to continue this conversation start a new topic.

  • You cannot reply to this topic
29 replies to this topic

#21 Dave Astle   Senior Staff   -  Reputation: 2307

Posted 31 January 2000 - 03:57 AM

Home system: 96MB, Q3''97, Win 98
Work: 256MB, Q2''99, Win 95/NT

And I''m a professional developer.

Sponsor:

#22 Anonymous Poster_Anonymous Poster_*   Guests   -  Reputation:

Posted 31 January 2000 - 06:47 AM

i just would like to say that if you cant afford atleast 64 megs of ram then you need a new dam job.

#23 Notwen   Members   -  Reputation: 122

Posted 31 January 2000 - 08:47 AM

Thats a fairly limited world view, AnonP. There are tons of people (and I''m talking specifically about Americans here) that can''t afford 64 megs of ram, even with two people working. I suspect that "extra ram" is pretty low on the pyramid of needs hierarchy. Its a luxury, in the grand scheme of things. I know a family of 3 bringing home around 65,000 (2 adults working), they have trouble making ends meet, and the last thing on there minds is more memory.

And 65k is hardly chump change.

Notwen

#24 SonicSilcion   Members   -  Reputation: 122

Posted 31 January 2000 - 09:05 AM

128Mb PC100 ECC, ''00-Q1, Home, Win98SE - well if I could ever get it running. [Install w/PCI card, reinstall 3 times, finally run, change to AGP card, corruption, start all over...] Guess a Dual proc. MB wasn''t such a great idea.

#25 Anonymous Poster_Anonymous Poster_*   Guests   -  Reputation:

Posted 31 January 2000 - 02:35 PM

haha
nnn

#26 Omen   Members   -  Reputation: 122

Posted 31 January 2000 - 04:02 PM

i have 2 pc's at home:
pc1
128mb
bought q3 1999
home user, hobbi gamez programmer/modeller
win98

pc2
64mb
bought q2 1998
same as above
win95

work
128mb
don't know when bought
professional software engineer
winnt4.0 sp5

Edited by - Omen on 1/31/00 10:04:56 PM

#27 Anonymous Poster_Anonymous Poster_*   Guests   -  Reputation:

Posted 31 January 2000 - 04:09 PM

128MB
1999-Q3
Home User
Windoze 98

I agree with Spike. (about "standard" ram amounts)

~GSDT~

#28 Hjalmarsson   Members   -  Reputation: 122

Posted 02 February 2000 - 09:09 AM

quote:
Original post by Mithrandir

I have 32 megs, bought 4 months ago.
Windows 95/Linux

Funny, how linux runs faster and better with less...

the only reason anyone would need more than 32 is if you''re running a professional server, a 3d workstation, or you get an ultra-bloated operating system (COUGH*win2k*COUGH). Just because Microsoft says 64 megs is standard, and because it''s top of the line operating system requires that much, doesnt make it the standard.

Maybe you people with all the 128 MB and higher don''t know anyone else, but I know a lot of people, and no-one that i know personally has more than 64. 64 is high end for normal people.

here''s a survey:

Mean RAM: 40.6 MB

06 * 64
06 * 48
10 * 32
01 * 24
02 * 16
01 * 08

now as you can see, the most people have 32 megs. Now, maybe people who''s parents buy everything for them don''t realise this, so I''ll enunciate: RAM IS EXPENSIVE.

get that? I''ll say it again for the hearing/logic impaired.
RAM IS EXPENSIVE.

only people who have everything catered to them can think that 32 megs is only for poor people who buy budget only ''clunkers''

remember, the only reason they clunk is because you people insist on using Operating systems that are so full of bloat and crap that does nothing except force you to spend more money on something you don''t really need.

Im am REALLY sick of littlie kiddies comming in the chatroom and bragging that they have 128 megs of ram, 4 different computers, the most expensive video cards, and other expensive things that your mommies and daddies bought for you. its ANNOYING.

Go out in the real world, and earn a living for christ sake.
Then you''ll learn the real value of money.

Edited by - Mithrandir on 1/28/00 3:53:54 PM



First of all remember, The world is bigger than the US!
I know one (!!) that have 32Meg of ram and he is about to upgrade!

rest have 64, 128 and 192!




#29 Melo   Members   -  Reputation: 122

Posted 03 February 2000 - 02:33 AM

I have 64MB and my next computer will contain 128 and will be upgraded to 256 in a year or two.

I''m using my computer @Home only.

#30 GEo   Members   -  Reputation: 144

Posted 03 February 2000 - 03:03 AM

Home User (novice programmer & student)
P266 (AMD), 48MB RAM, 6.4Gb HDD, Shite Graphics Card.
Built by myself.
Parts bought ages ago (whenever this spec. cost about £500
upgrade long overdue. I feel sorry for the guy with the P166.

I use Win95 (b), I don''t need 98 or 2K, they''re a waste of space (& RAM), I''d probably convert to Linux after recently learning more about it, but I need Win95 for my college work, and I''m running low on HDD space.

I recommend at least 48/64Mb for this kind of setup, any more is a waste of money (except prehaps for state of the art games, I dunno, can''t afford ''em .

Most important is a good 3D graphics card for this kind of stuff (unfortunately they''re not cheap!)

In the UK just now, most users have at least 32Mb, since memory is the cheapest upgrade around.

George.






Old topic!
Guest, the last post of this topic is over 60 days old and at this point you may not reply in this topic. If you wish to continue this conversation start a new topic.



PARTNERS