Jump to content

  • Log In with Google      Sign In   
  • Create Account

VC++: Getting list of properties to drop down..


Old topic!
Guest, the last post of this topic is over 60 days old and at this point you may not reply in this topic. If you wish to continue this conversation start a new topic.

  • You cannot reply to this topic
5 replies to this topic

#1 GelfTheElf   Members   -  Reputation: 128

Like
Likes
Like

Posted 29 December 2001 - 11:13 AM

How come if I create a D3D anything, and I type like blah. <-- I don''t get the list of properties etc. Same thing happens with functions... Thanks! -Gelf

Sponsor:

#2 ColdfireV   Members   -  Reputation: 122

Like
Likes
Like

Posted 29 December 2001 - 12:50 PM

You need to include any .h files that have the typedef, function, and variable info right into your project. I had the same problem.. just doing a #include doesn''t give you the drop down info (actually, it''s called auto-complete).. Include the .h files.

Also, VC++ 6.0 has some sort of bug (at least on my machine) that doesn''t give you the drop-down for member variables or functions after you execute a DX8 program on the first run. Why? I don''t know.. I do know it''s trying to display it, because I can tell VC++ is trying to show it, and the bottom status bar shows that it is there... Actually, I can still select members from struct, classes, etc.. But the actual drop-down is invisible. Can anyone tell me what this is? It still gives me the parameter info for functions, but no drop-down. Good luck, just include the .h files.. to answer your question.

ColdfireV

#3 Anonymous Poster_Anonymous Poster_*   Guests   -  Reputation:

Likes

Posted 01 January 2002 - 08:32 AM

Hi!

May I suggest Visual Assist from http://www.wholetomato.com>

It helps a lot with that kind of problems.
This app is great! Hope you have the $79 to buy it, but at least you get a 30 day trial.

#4 BaShildy   Members   -  Reputation: 122

Like
Likes
Like

Posted 02 January 2002 - 07:46 PM

Visual Assist is amazing. It is a intellisense (that thing that drops down and shows you methods and member variables) enhancement that really speeds up development. I totally recommend you download the demo, i started using it 2 days ago and am definately going to purchase it when my demo time is up.

Code comment of the week:
bool hack = false; // DO NOT CHANGE THIS EVER

#5 Promit   Moderators   -  Reputation: 7195

Like
Likes
Like

Posted 03 January 2002 - 05:35 AM

ColdFireV, i think you know what''s going on, but your explanation made no sense. VC doesnt give me any info on COM objects, but it knows where they are coming from...it''s getting me pissed off.

-----------------------------
The sad thing about artificial intelligence is that it lacks artifice and therefore intelligence.

#6 Rickmeister   Members   -  Reputation: 182

Like
Likes
Like

Posted 15 January 2002 - 06:53 AM

Had the same problem as you, and I fooled around a bit and after a couple of restarts of VC I went into Project settings (Alt+F7) and checked the "Generate mapfile" option.. I doubt that this option has anything to do with the statement completion option, but I think it forces VC to read through the header-files, and VOILA.. my parameter-drop-down-list works...

Anyway, it worked for me...





Old topic!
Guest, the last post of this topic is over 60 days old and at this point you may not reply in this topic. If you wish to continue this conversation start a new topic.



PARTNERS