Yeah I know it's been asked a lot but....

Started by
1 comment, last by Compaq 22 years, 3 months ago
Ok guys. I've seen people ask about collision detection a lot on this forum. And I've tried a fair amount of things. But this is my first time working with 3D spaces and rotating planes. So I figured I'd ask for some help . My first approach was to just translate the coordinates just as glTranslatef() does and then to test whether or not the point was within .2 of the plane on the x, y, z axis. I realize this is quite crude but this is my first time so bear with me. Then I realized that I never rotated the plane. So after some time I figured out how to rotate the plane (I think), using gamedev's resources page. So I did that and I realized that my code was still flawed. I decided to rewrite the code to drop a perpendicular down to the plane from where the player wants to go and see if that's within the minimum distance. For some reason this is not working and my code seems quite hopeless as I figured out the math while I was coding it. So now I was going to take the four endpoints of the plane and compare the distance with where the player is and where the player wants to go. I figure that if the minimum distance to the four vertex points lies on the line drawn from where the player wants to go and where the player is (rather then the endpoints) then the player can't go there because they are crossing a plane. I could easily subtract 0.1 from the value where they are going to account for whether or not the endpoint of the line is on the plane and that would seem ok, but I'm having a little trouble with the translation algorithm (to translate the coordinates of the plane) and an algorithm to find the distances (I guess I would use the distance formula but because the player is always 0,0,0...I believe...then that should be easy). Am I on the right track and if so could someone just help me understand how to translate the points. You don't necessarilly need to write