Jump to content

  • Log In with Google      Sign In   
  • Create Account


Basic


Old topic!
Guest, the last post of this topic is over 60 days old and at this point you may not reply in this topic. If you wish to continue this conversation start a new topic.

  • You cannot reply to this topic
6 replies to this topic

#1 Cain62   Members   -  Reputation: 122

Like
Likes
Like

Posted 20 January 2002 - 03:05 AM

Is Basic(The Language) good enough to write small 3d games??? Like a Mixture between space invaders and a verticle shooter!! Where can I find Basic and a compiler for it!!! AND ALSO ANOTHER THING, IS BASIC FREE!!!!

Sponsor:

#2 Anonymous Poster_Anonymous Poster_*   Guests   -  Reputation:

Likes

Posted 20 January 2002 - 03:53 AM

Try one of the following links:

www.darkbasic.com
www.blitzbasic.com

Both have demo versions of their languages.

#3 Kneelz   Members   -  Reputation: 122

Like
Likes
Like

Posted 20 January 2002 - 05:07 AM

[Gaiiden]
at least this part is true, well the second half anyways
[/Gaiiden]

Use QBasic. It's totally free.

Kneelz.

#4 netwiz   Members   -  Reputation: 122

Like
Likes
Like

Posted 20 January 2002 - 05:47 AM

Basic is awesome, I have a book here. I don''t know if QBASIC can do 3D. DarkBAsic, and Liberty BAsic can.

#5 TerranFury   Members   -  Reputation: 142

Like
Likes
Like

Posted 20 January 2002 - 06:08 AM

QBASIC is for DOS. You do not, therefore, have access to 3d hardware acceleration. Nothing, however, is stopping you from writing a software renderer (well, aside from its incredible inefficiency). If you do decide to use QB, get QB45, which can compile your code. Running a compiled program is significantly faster than simply telling QBASIC to "RUN" your code (in which case it interprets it). I once made a simple program that plotted pixels in a pattern to the screen. Running through the QB interpreter, it ran at 20 FPS. Running the compiled version, it ran at 112. Even compiled, though, QB is no match for C in terms of speed.

#6 dirkduck   Members   -  Reputation: 122

Like
Likes
Like

Posted 24 January 2002 - 10:57 AM

you can do 3d in qbasic, although its bloody hard. but yeah, blitzbasic and darkbasic get the job done well

http://labino.cjb.net
freeware and shareware games, and free and pay web design.

#7 Anonymous Poster_Anonymous Poster_*   Guests   -  Reputation:

Likes

Posted 29 January 2002 - 07:57 AM

To make a 3D engine in Qbasic isn''t so hard. You can make the engine do almost everything but it will be very slow. A long time ago I made my QBasic 3D engine (whitout any lib''s and stuff like that) but the engine was very slow. It had about 50 FPS when drawing plane polygons and when texturemapped then the speed was to slow for real time rendering.




Old topic!
Guest, the last post of this topic is over 60 days old and at this point you may not reply in this topic. If you wish to continue this conversation start a new topic.



PARTNERS