How do people get started in the business?

Started by
12 comments, last by LonelyTower 22 years, 2 months ago
Hi all, It is one thing to start developing a game but it is almost a different thing on how a "company" (I prefer the name "development tema") is set up and how are the practical aspects are. For those who have already started, I am wondering about if you like to answer some of my questions: ~ Do you start only when you are a "know-it-all"? ~ How do you handle the hassle of reality? Rent? Family? Other obiligations? Living from day to day? ~ Is there any difficulty in getting publishers? ~ And the most important question -- where did you get the money from? Thanks for your time.
"Magic makes the world go round." - Erasmus, Quest For Glory I
Advertisement
To answer your questions..
i studied game buisness running game buisness for 3 years, reading books, talking to other game developers, and even taking classes on buisness.

If you plan on making a game on the internet (virtual office) you might as well kiss everything you listed good bye...the only thing you will have time for is your base pay job...which you hope you will be able to quit once your game is made.

Difficulties in getting a publisher isn''t really hard, if you have a kick ass game, they will sponsor it, however, i would get a government buisness loan (around 50k) and sell them yourselves like we are, instead of presenting it to a publisher like EA or God Games.

I saved up money and pulled a government loan, we are also going to sell our game engine to the public which we hope will give us more funding...

you can''t make a game without any money, it is impossible ( you have to pay electricity - money)

I''d say its going to be very hard to convince any of the bigger publishers to back a team if none of the members have ever worked on a commercial game before. Almost certainly make sure that at least the key/lead personnel have a track record!.