• Create Account

[java] What editers do you use?

Old topic!
Guest, the last post of this topic is over 60 days old and at this point you may not reply in this topic. If you wish to continue this conversation start a new topic.

• You cannot reply to this topic
19 replies to this topic

#1 eqs   Members   -  Reputation: 122

Posted 23 February 2000 - 05:20 AM

Ive been curious since i started learning Java about using an editer. At the moment i use notepad + DOS for everything. Ive tried jpad, and wasnt really impressed. Is MSJ++ worth getting? I was wondering what real Java programmers used. PEACE GAZZ

Sponsor:

#2 SiCrane   Moderators   -  Reputation: 9386

Posted 23 February 2000 - 07:09 AM

Mostly notepad in Win9x/NT and pico in *NIX. For compiles (in Win9x/NT and *NIX) I use make to organize my projects. I personally don''t think MSVJ++ was worth my money.

#3 Jim_Ross   Members   -  Reputation: 122

Posted 23 February 2000 - 07:12 AM

I use pfe32. It''s a text editor but with nice shortcuts and features. No code hilighting or anything, but it''s fast, supports multiple windows, macros, multiple undos. I use it for all my coding.

#4 joeG   Members   -  Reputation: 172

Posted 23 February 2000 - 08:12 AM

If I didn''t get JBuilder with Borland Builder 4 Pro, then I would probably be using PFE right now. I just love code completion (...done right...)

JoeG

#5 Jerry Lynn   Members   -  Reputation: 122

Posted 23 February 2000 - 10:16 AM

I use JBuilder 3 Enterprise Edition for Windows and JBuilder 3 Foundation for Linux. I have been using JBuilder in Windows since version one, and I have for the most part been happy with it (despite the occasional rough spots). I have just started playing with the Foundation edition, so I can''t really say anything about it.

#6 Aldacron   GDNet+   -  Reputation: 3054

Posted 24 February 2000 - 01:58 AM