2 short questions

Started by
8 comments, last by Fredric 24 years, 1 month ago
I''ve got 2 questions that I''ve been wondering for a while... 1) How do I get a randomly generated number in one my apps? I need it for a simple guessing game (which is a mini-game in my other, crappy game). 2) For all of you have finished a game- how long did it take you... from the first #include to the last }, how long did it take you to completely finish your game? Programming::~Fredric(const Annoy_Ance)
3D Math- The type of mathematics that'll put hair on your chest!
Advertisement
Hello I''m not that experienced but there is a rand() function that returns a random number. You need to include stdlib.h but other than that I don''t know.
Jesus Freak,Jesus Loves you. He is the Alpha and Omega the Beginning and the End.
yep

for example

rand()%256 will generate a number in that range

Q2: I am still learning C++ so no games just yet
For random numbers:

First, #include which includes the prototypes and macros for the standard PRNG (pseudo-random number generator) functions.

Second, at the start of your program, you need to seed the PRNG using srand. You need to pass it a number like:

srand(42);

but it you seed it with a fixed number, you''ll get the same sequence every time you run the program. (Note: this is a good thing for reproducing a situation, for example, when tracking a bug.) If you want different numbers each time, then the easy way is this:

#include
#include

void main() {
srand(time(0));
}

Third, use rand() to get your numbers. It returns an integer from 0 to RAND_MAX (or is it RAND_MAX-1?). Check your documentation for specifics.

Finally, prefer (rand() / 256) over (rand() % 256). In basic PRNG''s like rand(), the low-order bits tend not to be so random. Using integer divide instead of modulo will get you better results.

There are better PRNG''s out there, but this should get you started.

---- --- -- -