Jump to content

  • Log In with Google      Sign In   
  • Create Account


D3DERR_INVALIDCALL -> SOLVED! :)


Old topic!
Guest, the last post of this topic is over 60 days old and at this point you may not reply in this topic. If you wish to continue this conversation start a new topic.

  • You cannot reply to this topic
12 replies to this topic

#1 Corvus   Members   -  Reputation: 122

Like
Likes
Like

Posted 16 June 2002 - 11:23 PM

When I perform a CreateDevice on my machine (using C#.NET and DirectX 8.1), I get an HRESULT which means D3DERR_INVALIDCALL. When I run the same code on the machine of my colleague, it works fine. So this has got nothing to do with .NET or the type library. What else could cause this error? Could it be the driver of my video card?? Thanx +++ Corvus +++ [edited by - Corvus on June 18, 2002 7:03:00 AM]

Sponsor:

#2 Carrot   Members   -  Reputation: 130

Like
Likes
Like

Posted 16 June 2002 - 11:45 PM

Usually means parameter structures are not being initialised correctly.
It could be just luck that the garbage from an uninitialised field in one of the D3D structures just happens to work on your colleagues machine.

#3 Corvus   Members   -  Reputation: 122

Like
Likes
Like

Posted 16 June 2002 - 11:51 PM

With C#.NET, structures are automatically filled with the default values for the value types of that struct. A struct with 2 ints for example, will be filled with two zero''s. So, that''s not the problem...

+++ Corvus +++

#4 SimDemon   Members   -  Reputation: 122

Like
Likes
Like

Posted 17 June 2002 - 01:24 AM

I have this same problem. No one has been able to help me yet. What type of video card is in the one that worked and yours? I tested an app made in C++ for Direct3D and it said "Error Creating Device", but I ran the same app but made in VB and it worked.*confused* I did that on an nVidia AGP Graphics Card w/ 16MB and 512MB RAM. On my computer I ran them both and neither worked. It has an ATI 3D Rage Pro II+ w/ 16MB and 128MB RAM.

If thispost = 0 Then
GoBack()

Else
Read()
End If

#5 IndirectX   Members   -  Reputation: 122

Like
Likes
Like

Posted 17 June 2002 - 01:26 AM

Try the debug runtime.


#6 Corvus   Members   -  Reputation: 122

Like
Likes
Like

Posted 17 June 2002 - 01:32 AM

Will this fix my problem? Or will it just help me to point out where the bug can be found...

My machine is an IBM Thinkpad 800Mhz 320MB with an ATI Rage Mobility M-AGP with 8MB RAM. I have never updated the drivers for my video card, so could that be the problem?

+++ Corvus +++

#7 IndirectX   Members   -  Reputation: 122

Like
Likes
Like

Posted 17 June 2002 - 01:34 AM

The latter. And you most definitely should update your drivers.

#8 Corvus   Members   -  Reputation: 122

Like
Likes
Like

Posted 17 June 2002 - 01:40 AM

ok, I''ll try that, but the problem is, ATI does not offer standard drivers for their mobility cards, because the driver software is specific for each brand of laptop lcd-screen... that sucks

+++ Corvus +++

#9 SimDemon   Members   -  Reputation: 122

Like
Likes
Like

Posted 17 June 2002 - 01:40 AM

I think there''s something about Direct3D and ATI that they hate about each other. L0L. I ran dxdiag.exe, though, and Direct3D went okay.

If thispost = 0 Then
GoBack()

Else
Read()
End If

#10 Corvus   Members   -  Reputation: 122

Like
Likes
Like

Posted 17 June 2002 - 01:43 AM

My colleague also has an ATI mobility, but he has installed a driver, some time ago, so.....

+++ Corvus +++

#11 SimDemon   Members   -  Reputation: 122

Like
Likes
Like

Posted 17 June 2002 - 03:11 AM

I don''t know where I can find ATI drivers. I checked at the website, but I didn''t find any for ATI 3D Rage Pro/ATI 3D Rage Pro II+.

#12 Corvus   Members   -  Reputation: 122

Like
Likes
Like

Posted 17 June 2002 - 03:33 AM

Yes, they are there: in the top left there is a title CUSTOMER SERVICE, and there is an item called "find an item".

I have downloaded the latest driver for mobility cards from IBM, but I haven''t installed it yet (to busy working, see ).

+++ Corvus +++

#13 Corvus   Members   -  Reputation: 122

Like
Likes
Like

Posted 17 June 2002 - 11:26 PM

Just posting to say that my problem is fixed :D. I''ve installed the latest driver for my card, and it works ok now!

Thanx all, for you help! I will go on exploring DirectX under C#.NET .

+++ Corvus +++




Old topic!
Guest, the last post of this topic is over 60 days old and at this point you may not reply in this topic. If you wish to continue this conversation start a new topic.



PARTNERS