Jump to content

  • Log In with Google      Sign In   
  • Create Account


Member Since 23 Nov 2008
Online Last Active Today, 05:56 PM
Always learning, always improving. Always an eternal student. Updated 03 Jul · 0 comments

About Me

***Please take notice. I have no trouble helping people when I see the question on the forums, but please do not private message me questions because I won't answer. Questions, even ones that seem really minor are still a learning chance for other new programmers so.. Please post the question in the beginner forum here instead of PMing me.***


Been programming since 1994 when it was required to learn BASIC in the computer classes in my 7th and 8th grades. Spent two years in BASIC before moving to C++ in '96. Primarily been using C++ since, but have messed with tons of other languages including assembler, C, C#, Python, Perl, Ruby, HTML, PHP, MySQL, CSS, Java, Javascript, D, Lua, and XML. In a phrase, I'm a student of all, master of none.


Game wise, I was brought up on video games and I have always loved them. I was brought up playing the Atari 2600 (Circus Atari, Pitfall, Defender, Missile Command, E.T., Space Wars, Asteroids, Pac Man, River Raid, etc.). Then I went to playing the NES (Super Mario Bros., TMNT, Metroid, Metal Gear, etc.). Over my lifetime I have had a lot of systems Atari 2600, NES, Gameboy, SNES, Genesis, Game Gear, N64, Playstation, Playstation 2, Gamecube, Dreamcast, PSP, DS, GBA, Xbox, Wii, and PS3. I have plans to eventually get a PS4 and PS Vita, but have not had a 360 and no plans to get a Xbox One.


I've worked 9 to 5 jobs from 2001 to 2006, but in 2006 I quit and focused on college. I went to DeVry University for their Game and Simulation Programming program and received a Bachelors of Science February 2011. I spend more time helping other beginner programmers on C++ programming sites grasp concepts instead of coding my own things because of self doubt and lack of confidence.


During all of the last part (2001 and later) my driving force has been my loving wife and son. I spend my days taking care of them. They both have FSH (Facioscapulohumeral) Muscular Dystrophy and both are in wheelchairs, but sadly my son's health is more severe as he has a mic-key feeding tube and trach while staying on a CPAP vent setting day and night. He can breath on his own, but feel more comfortable staying on it. They are my motivation when mine is gone. He was just starting to talk when he stopped breathing August of 2012. I've not heard him talk since and it breaks my heart every day wishing I could hear his voice again. 


Think that covers all aspects of me.

Community Stats

  • Group Members
  • Active Posts 294
  • Profile Views 3,149
  • Submitted Links 0
  • Member Title Eternal Student
  • Age 32 years old
  • Birthday October 30, 1981
  • Gender
    Male Male
  • Location
    Bloomington, IN, USA
  • Interests
    Programming, writing, drawing, reading.

1438 Good

User Tools

Latest Visitors