• Advertisement
  • entries
    740
  • comments
    957
  • views
    731295

Wow, that's f***ed up

Sign in to follow this  

122 views

Well, I was prepping the release version of GC to ship out to the team. I went to copy all my directories into the Release folder where I do final packaging seperate from the development folder and I accidentally click dragged instead of right-click dragged. Sp I started moving files until Windows asked me if I wanted to move a system file (thumbs.db). That's when I canceled, but I forgot that doesn't return any files already moved. So then I actually copied them over. Now I can't distribute any source files so I use a batch command file (del /s *.cs) to remove all the source files and leave the compiled source files (.dso). However it seems that in the move Windows managed to move all my source files/folders into the Release directory.

Yea.

The cruelty is that as far as I can tell, the source files were pretty much the only things that were moved before I canceled the operation. Someone up there definetly doesn't like me.

I have backups... from my last release a week ago. I was going to back up this release as well... after I packaged it. And here I was afraid of drive failure at the start of the year. Yeesh

So I'm not totally screwed, but having to redo a week's worth of work... well. Yea.

And forget the data recovery, tried some freeware apps and couldn't get anything worthwhile [sad] Oh well, hopefully this weekend I'll be able to reclaim my lost time - at least I know what I'm doing, even if I have to do it all over again *sigh*
Sign in to follow this  


0 Comments


Recommended Comments

There are no comments to display.

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now

  • Advertisement